Gas Range Digital Display


  #1  
Old 05-09-10, 08:28 AM
johnam's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 2,043
Received 12 Votes on 11 Posts
Gas Range Digital Display

GE slide in gas range model JGSP10GEK1 - 22 years old (like new!!).
The digital display was dim yesterday and I began searching the Internet and I looks like it's either the relay board or the electronic digital display. Today, it was bright again and then it went dim again, I gave it a tap on the glass surface and it's bright again. I need your expert advice as to which part needs replacing. I understand that the part is very expensive even if I install it myself. Someone even suggested repairing the relay board by simply replacing 2 capacitors (available at Radio Shack???).
 
  #2  
Old 05-10-10, 05:34 AM
Sharp Advice's Avatar
Admin Emeritus
Join Date: Feb 1998
Location: The Shake and Bake State USA
Posts: 10,398
Received 5 Votes on 4 Posts
Hi: Johnam

Not a capacitor. More likely the transformer/inverter. Led lights are D/C current. Not likely A/C current in that models vintage year. A defective transformer would/could cause the described condition. Located on the circuit board.

May also be a gone bad and/or poor wire connection at a terminal or soldered wire connection, etc. Evident by the tapping on the glass restoring the full current creating full brightness, etc.
 
  #3  
Old 05-10-10, 07:53 AM
johnam's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 2,043
Received 12 Votes on 11 Posts
The display is green light and I assume that it is an LED. I will check out the transformer and possible poor connections. I will let you know as soon as I get to it. Thanks for your help.
 
  #4  
Old 05-11-10, 12:55 PM
johnam's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 2,043
Received 12 Votes on 11 Posts
Got to the circuit board and first thing I saw was a 6 or 8 pin connector from a cable to the board. I gave it a push, the light got bright and has been that way all day. It didn't seem to be a loose connection but when something begins to work, I don't question it. Thanks for getting me to check it out. If it dims again, I'll let you know and we'll do step 2.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: