Frigidaire Gas Range - Oven not heating

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-28-11, 01:01 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Frigidaire Gas Range - Oven not heating

So today is my birthday and the wife went to make me a homemade pizza for lunch, but no joy. The oven is not heating. The clock works, the stovetop is fine, and even the broiler is working with no issue. Only the bottom element is not working. I removed the heat shield and watched it "in action" and found the pilot heats up and glows red, but the burner itself never turns on. I do not get much of a smel of gas either, and holding a match up to the burner does not yield a start. Odd that it's only the lower element that's doing this, but admittedly I know nothing about Ovens. I have unplugged the unit and pugged it back in, no luck. The model is FGFL67DCD. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-28-11, 06:03 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: canada
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
same stove same problem

I converted 3 year old Frigidaire stove from natural gas to propane.
Changed nozles ,adjusted broiler burner and oven burner nozles as per instructions.
Everything worked but oven bottom burner.As in previous post ignitor gets red hot but never lites up.I thought that oven valve isn't oprating so i got another stove same make .Acted same as the first stove, everything works but bottom oven burner.
I'm using barbeque propane bottle and not sure if that could be the problem but again rest of the stove works .
Hope somone can help me solve the problem.
Thanks
 
  #3  
Old 07-29-11, 12:33 AM
Sharp Advice's Avatar
Admin Emeritus
Join Date: Feb 1998
Location: The Shake and Bake State USA
Posts: 10,440
Received 5 Votes on 4 Posts
Hello c0ffeedad and Welcome to the Do It Yourself Web Site and to the Gas Appliances topic.

Most often the Hot Surface (Glowing) Igniter (HSI) in the oven is used far more often then the HSI in a broiler. Therefore, it is far more likely to wear out sooner and need replacement then the HSI in a broiler. My suggestion to you,as a test, is to remove the broilers HSI and install it in the oven.

Then turn oven on and note the results. Oven should operate normally. If it does, then the HSI that was in the oven is weak and or worn out. Purchase a new HSI and install it in the broiler. Since there will not already be one there. Makes for less work installing the new HSI in the broiler and since broilers are used far less then an oven,the new igniter will last longer. Also very possible installing the new HSI into oven shortly therefore the broilers HSI will fail.

Retail parts dealers and appliances parts stores can also help determine what the possible problem may be based upon that specific brand and model. Bring the make, model and serial numbers. Dealers and appliances parts stores are listed in the phone book.

Additional Suggestions:
Read the manufacturers on line web site for product information, problem possibilities, causes, solving methods, part locations, disassembly, reassembly methods, repair procedures, pictorials, schematics, repair and or owners manuals which may be available on line.

Cautionary Reminder Note:
Before attempting any repairs, be sure to unplug the appliance from the wall receptacle power source first.

Read The Sticky Help Note In This Topic:
Range-Stove-Oven-Broiler Basic Help Information & Manufacturers Web Sites. Range/Stove/Oven/Broiler Info, Leak Detection, Fault Codes, Fuel Conversion & Links - DoItYourself.com Community Forums

Use the reply button to add additional information or questions. Using the reply button keeps or moves the topic back up to the top of the list automatically and keeps all communications on this subject in this thread.
 
  #4  
Old 07-29-11, 12:50 AM
Sharp Advice's Avatar
Admin Emeritus
Join Date: Feb 1998
Location: The Shake and Bake State USA
Posts: 10,440
Received 5 Votes on 4 Posts
Hello bunaca. Welcome to the Gas Appliances topic.

Confussion.... You managed to purchase another exactly the same 3 year old stove? Meaning you now have two identical 3 year old stoves? Yes? or No?

I suspect using a propane bottle, like the ones used with an outdoor BBQ, could be or likely to be the cause. Possibly lower pressure and/or lower volume or both which may not be able to allow the oven burner to operate correctly or not at all.

You can also try the trick mentioned in my reply to the firstpost. Might work and be worth a try...

Since you did not post your question as a new post and tagged it to the first post, your reply is not as likely to be noticed as quickly. Nor is the problem exactly the same as the first one.

Some additional advice here:
Range-Stove-Oven-Broiler Basic Help Information & Manufacturers Web Sites. Range/Stove/Oven/Broiler Info, Leak Detection, Fault Codes, Fuel Conversion & Links - DoItYourself.com Community Forums

Retail parts dealers and appliances parts stores can also help determine what the possible problem may be based upon that specific brand and model. Bring the make, model and serial numbers. Dealers and appliances parts stores are listed in the phone book.

Cautionary Reminder Note:
Before attempting any repairs, be sure to unplug the appliance from the wall receptacle power source first.

Use the reply button to add additional information or questions. Using the reply button keeps or moves the topic back up to the top of the list automatically and keeps all communications on this subject in this thread.
 
  #5  
Old 07-29-11, 05:28 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: canada
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm not familiar with posting on the forum and might have made mistake by posting on someone else post.
Second stove that I purchase is about 6 years old also Frigidaire but not same model.Both use same parts ,same oven valve.
I was going to use this stove for the hunting camp ,that is why I have to use propane bottle .
Thanks for your help
 
  #6  
Old 07-29-11, 07:25 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sharp Advice - Thank you so much, you nailed it. I pulled out the HSI from the broliler and hooked it up on the lower element. One note, on my model the lead wire for the HSI is different length on the upper / lower HSI, which is somewhat rediculous, but either way it wasn't long enough to hook it up and feed it into the oven. So, I hooked it up under the oven, (on a hotplate obviously), turned the oven on bake, and within 10 seconds the gas tripped on for the lower element. On my way to the appliance store to get the HSI for my oven. thank you so much for your advice, it was spot on!
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: