Whirlpool Super Cap 465-no click, no flam

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-23-11, 07:08 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Whirlpool Super Cap 465-no click, no flam

Good Morning,

I have the above stove Model # SF315PEED, sn#RH0223382. It is a gas stove but the igniter is electric, so forgive me if I'm in the incorrect arena.

We have been lighting our stove top with matches for the last week. There has been no click on any of the 4 burners, but the gas is releasing to light. The top has been lifted and I tried one of the knobs and it clicked a little. Checked the rest and they are clicking now too. I am wondering if I should just order the replacement igniter module or if it could be at the switch itself where it is acting up.

I am also wondering if I need to replace the gas burner control component
Gas Burner or Control Component 3196449 Order now for same day shipping. 365 day return policy. RepairClinic.com
because the back "tube" is loose, as in I can turn the tube and spring a full revolution on the metal base.

Thanks for the help.

CJ
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-24-11, 04:09 AM
Sharp Advice's Avatar
Admin Emeritus
Join Date: Feb 1998
Location: The Shake and Bake State USA
Posts: 10,440
Received 5 Votes on 4 Posts
...

Hello CJ. Welcome to the Gas Appliances topic and the Do-It-Yourself Web Site.

The burner holding plate in the photos isn't likely needed unless flames appear beneath the burner at the area where you say it is loose. Might remove the plate and see if there is a screw holding base in place or the piece screws into the plate. Might just have come slightly loosened....

As far as the sparking or non sparking is concerned, if there is no sparking when one specific knob is turned, then it is likely only that one top burner switch is defective. However, if there is no sparking regardless of which top burner knob is rotated, then the no spark condition is most likely a result of a defective spark module.

If the sparking resumed when the top lid was lifted and works fine when the lid was lowered into place, might be a loose connection in one of the terminal wire ends or elsewhere. Not a result of a defective switch, etc. Be sure the electrical power is off or the appliance is unplug before checking. Electrical shock......is a possibility if the appliance isn't unplugged.

Retail local appliance parts dealers can also help determine what the possible problems may be also. They will need the make, model an serial numbers. Appliance parts dealers are an excellent source for original replacement parts. Dealers are listed in the phone book under appliances.

Kindly use the reply button to post all replies, add additional information or ask additional questions when replies are posted. Using this method moves and/or keeps the topic back up to the top of the list of questions automatically and keeps all content on the same subject within one thread.
 
  #3  
Old 08-24-11, 08:28 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for your input. The oven is 13 years old so it could very well be the spark module (what I called the igniter module). I will go back and check for a loose connection first as it clicked all four burners when I had the lid up but did not repeat (or repair itself : ( haha) when I put the lid back down. The click was also weaker than what I would get under normal operation. Unfortunately, I had to stop investigating and start cooking! I'll fill you in when I get a round tuit (get it? around to it? sorry for the poor humor it's passed my bedtime.)

Cj
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: