oven wont work

Old 11-22-11, 03:41 PM
B
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
oven wont work

Hello I'm new to this I have a caloric heritage series stove my oven started acting up by not keeping temp i would bang on the tube by the igniter then it would kick back on. Now I cant get it to work at all the igniter won't work the burners ontop work fine. The model # is Rls359 serial # is 9204226938 any advice would be great thanksgiving is two days away and we dnt have an oven wife is not happy thx again

Old 11-22-11, 08:53 PM
M
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
Well it was probably the igniter at first. After banging and the igniter does not glow, you may have broken a wire in the gas valve. If the igniter still glows I would replace the igniter unless you have the meter to test it first.

Old 11-23-11, 04:15 AM
B
Thx ya the igniter doesn't glow or do i smell gas when i turn on the oven. When i would bang on the burner it would kick the burner on almost like the gas wasn't coming out. Then like I said all of a suden the igniter wouldn't come on either. So i will try to get an igniter to see if that works but first I will test it.Now the oven switch on top seems like it isn't getting power it says it is 120 but when i put the meter on it it has nothing not real sure about gas stoves never worked on one but if i.can fix it cheaper than a new stove that would be great! Thx again

Old 11-23-11, 11:02 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
You probably had a weak ignitor that wasn't getting hot enough to open the gas valve reliably and light the gas.

Often a weak ignitor will fail completely, at which point the oven wont turn on at all.

Banging on the range while the ignitor was hot might have broken it, but I wouldn't blame you for that absent better information and it was a defective part anyway!