Roper Town and Country, Bryant lighter doesn't work

Old 10-30-12, 08:14 AM
R
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Roper Town and Country, Bryant lighter doesn't work

Hi: Ken
Post this exact info in the gas appliances topic please. The intent is so other members can read my full reply with advice so they also can learn. Basically, a bryant lighter has a thin metal strip with a steel ball on it. When the second flame heats the steel strip it warps and the steel ball is lifted off the gas orifce hole and gas flows. They are a non repairable item. At the age of the part not likely it will work anymore after being taken apart. Needs to be replaced if a new one can be purchased. Best as can recall they are not easy to get new if at all.
Tom

I read what you wrote, but have some additional questions if you don't mind. I have a Roper Town and Country with 3 Bryant lighters. Its "new" to me so I have no prior knowledge of its history. The broiler works, but both ovens don't. The primary pilot works fine. The secondary pilot which activates upon turning the oven knob on works fine, but the main burner does not fire up. My question is: If the secondary pilot comes on upon turning the oven knob on does that mean the Bryant lighter safety is working properly but I have a main burner problem, or am I still with a Bryant lighter problem? And can I take the Bryant lighter apart while still attached to the stove, or must it come out?

Thanks,
Ken

Sponsored Links
Old 10-30-12, 08:46 AM
R
More detailed info on Bryant lighter problem

There is a posting dated 9-9-01 from member jbclem that relates to the Bryant lighter. He talks about both a shop in LA and himself rebuilding this Bryant lighter.