New GE stove flaming

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-13-13, 10:32 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New GE stove flaming

Brand new GE convection oven replacing our original oven - both propane. New oven came with gas conversion. Installed and the flames are huge! Top burners have flames 6-8" high and must be used down at the lowest settings. The oven has flames up through the bottom vents and the broiler has flames lapping out the top far enough to contact the inner door if it's shut. Area between the knob gets very hot then as well. Tried both nozzles (LP and natural gas) and no change. Thoughts and suggestions?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-13-13, 11:05 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,135
Received 35 Votes on 33 Posts
You need to ensure that the gas pressure is correct for the stove you purchased.
A service call to check the installation and check the gas pressure might be a good idea in case there is a problem with the stove.
 
  #3  
Old 01-16-13, 08:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,655
Received 1,051 Votes on 975 Posts
New oven came with gas conversion
Did you do the conversion yourself ?

If you did.....did you change the regulator setting ?
Your conversion kit came with a set of instructions....did you follow them to the letter ?

Many companies will no longer sell the conversion kits directly to the public due to issues like this.
 
  #4  
Old 01-19-13, 02:57 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I had my furnace guy do the conversion. I do not like gas or electricity. He's not an appliance tech but a furnace/gas guy. he had the conversion directions and went over them a few times.
 
  #5  
Old 01-20-13, 04:05 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,135
Received 35 Votes on 33 Posts
Is your "furnace guy" a licensed/certified gas technician?
Most licensed gas techs will normally be familiar with gas appliances.

Did he connect a manometer to the gas supply to check that the pressure is what the manufacturer recommends?
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: