Gas oven with electronic spark ignition question.

Old 02-13-13, 02:59 AM
A
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

Hi,

Twenty five years ago I worked as an appliance repair technician for 7 years . Since that time I’ve moved on to auto mechanics, so I’m looking forward to helping as many people as I can in the auto repair section of this forum.

In any event I have a GE XL44 model JGBS04PEA2WH oven. All 4 of the top burners have lost their electronic ignition. In other words, when the knob for each burner is turned to the “Lite Position” there is no ticking sound.

Here’s the thing though. When I turn on each of the top burner knobs, I can smell gas and hear gas, and if I strike a match to each of the four burners they will light.

Question is why doesn’t the oven (below the burners) light. In other words, we I turn the oven knob on, I don’t smell gas, or hear gas and can’t even light the oven with a match.

I don’t understand that. Can you please tell me why? Logically speaking if I’m able to light all four of the top burners with a match, why can’t I light the oven with a match?

The oven is away from the wall, and within the next day or two I plan to remove the “Spark Module” and test it, but I don’t think the problem is the spark module. I started reading the spec sheet that came with the stove and the “Spark Module” information appears below

Kool Lite Harper-Wyman
Model 6545G1001A
Part number 223C3200P002

Based on the above information can you tell me what you think the problem is, and how to “Test” the spark module.

Thank You

Last edited by Shadeladie; 02-15-13 at 11:39 AM. Reason: Fixed format
Sponsored Links
Old 02-13-13, 11:39 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,029 Votes on 955 Posts
Welcome to the forum AF 62.

Try to use the default board editor as your post is very hard to read.