Amana gas cooktop - electric ignition


  #1  
Old 08-26-13, 08:09 AM
X
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Amana gas cooktop - electric ignition

Ok, so we purchased a used, but still in awesome shape and working, amana gas cooktop, model# AKS303 - we enlarged our hole in our countertop, hooked up the gas, and it kind of worked.

Here's 1 of my problems, I removed the top to adjust the airflow and disconnected the burners. first of all, I don't remember which wire goes to which burner (I got distracted in the middle of all this and when i went back, couldn't remember. So I hooked it up based upon what I thought was right, but when trying to turn it on, it creates spark at either multiple burners or only 1 depending on which knob I turn.

2nd problem - before I did the above (stupid me) we had it installed and it would light, but the flame would quickly die down to a 'low' setting - there's a regulator on the cooktop as well as a safety valve. When we turn on our wall oven, then the gas to the cooktop also increased and our flame would adjust to the normal. So, as long as the oven would be on, we could regulate the cooktop flame. What's causing this? Do we even need the safety valve, or what about the regulator? We have natural gas, so is it possible that the regulator isn't the right one for natural gas? Or did my husband just hook it up wrong?

I also retrieved the owner's manual online and there is no mention about how to hook the burners back up in case you forget (which I obviously did).

Just an FYI, our old cooktop had a standing pilot and worked w/o fail (except when it was overly dirty and needed cleaned).
Please help, as I can't install our old one due to the enlarged hole in my counter and I really need to cook!

http://i1159.photobucket.com/albums/...7a80ba37c5.jpg

http://i1159.photobucket.com/albums/...7524737062.jpg
 
  #2  
Old 08-26-13, 10:16 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,977
Received 3,174 Likes on 2,850 Posts
It should not make any difference where the spark wires go. When you light any burner they all will spark. There is a common spark ignition module.

You need all the parts that came in the unit. Are you converting this from LP to natural gas ?
It sounds like the regulator isn't adjusted right or may be still set for LP.
 
  #3  
Old 08-26-13, 10:58 AM
X
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ok, it's good to know about the spark wires - we are not converting from LP to natural gas, but I was wondering if it was maybe setup for LP prior to us buying it and therefore not functioning correctly since we do have natural gas. I'll see if I can figure out if that's the case.
 
  #4  
Old 08-27-13, 09:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,977
Received 3,174 Likes on 2,850 Posts
Maybe you can check with the party you purchased it from.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: