no flame on gas wall oven


  #1  
Old 12-05-13, 07:27 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
no flame on gas wall oven

Can someone please help me figure out whats wrong with my fridgidaire model#fgb24l2aba. It dosen't always light it seems that if i tap the regulator it will light. But im not sure if thats the problem or if its the glow ignitor if its just not getting hot enough or what please help
 
  #2  
Old 12-05-13, 09:54 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose,Ca
Posts: 1,277
Upvotes: 0
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
Sounds like the igniter is weak. Are you able to take an amp read. If no, probably just replace igniter.
 
  #3  
Old 12-05-13, 07:27 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,690
Received 4,101 Upvotes on 3,683 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Your oven has a safety valve but like mbk3 mentioned it's more likely a weak igniter.

The part number for your ignitor is 318177710. Unfortunately it is a pricey part. I've left you a link below to a parts retailer. You can use the part number I left to shop around online or visit your local appliance parts retailer.

Oven Igniter 318177710 at Repair Clinic
 
  #4  
Old 12-06-13, 01:47 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose,Ca
Posts: 1,277
Upvotes: 0
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
If that is just Norton igniter shop around. I don't think I have ever paid more than 30 bucks
Just found one on Amazon. $26.95
 
  #5  
Old 12-06-13, 11:31 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,690
Received 4,101 Upvotes on 3,683 Posts
The ones on Amazon are the off shore replacements..... like a generic. The actual Norton part seems to be available for 45.00 or so and up.

Definitely shop around using the part number I left you previously.
 
  #6  
Old 02-13-14, 08:28 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
MBK3 if i do have a amp reader what should i be testing and how many amps should it pull
 
  #7  
Old 02-13-14, 08:31 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
so you guys don't think its a clogged regulator i did have the gas company shut me off for a few day and im wondering if maybe a small partical got into regulator
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: