how to clean GE Gas range

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-11-15, 08:15 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 78
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
how to clean GE Gas range

Hi , I have GE Gas Range, Model# I cant find but here is the user manual

http://products.geappliances.com/Mar...e=49-85141.pdf

Looks like currently it is filled with food particles etc. and the flame is very also, take too much time to cook/boil

I read the manual and was able to lift up the rage,( see in pic). Unfortunately it opens very little( about 20-25 degree angel).

can you expert guys give me some idea how do I clean it?


pics:
before lifting up

Name:  20150125_205444.jpg
Views: 139
Size:  15.3 KB


after lifting up

Name:  20150125_205433.jpg
Views: 121
Size:  19.9 KB

after lifting up
Name:  20150125_205436.jpg
Views: 112
Size:  21.6 KB


after lifting up
Name:  20150125_205438.jpg
Views: 111
Size:  21.9 KB


after lifting up
Name:  20150125_205441.jpg
Views: 106
Size:  22.5 KB
 
  #2  
Old 07-11-15, 03:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,483
Received 1,421 Votes on 1,314 Posts
The model number can be found in the upper left hand corner of the pull out drawer area.

I'm going to assume you have something in the XL-44 line. In the following GE service manual see page 12 for detailed cook top removal. At the point you are at now you need to remove the four electrodes.

GE_30_inch_XL44_Series_Ranges_"True_Temp"_Technical_Service_Guide.pdf
 
  #3  
Old 07-12-15, 09:01 AM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,450
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I recommend you clean the burners and caps. Sears sells a product called "Grate Cleaner". It's a powder you add to hot water and let the burners soak overnight, maybe a little scrubbing.
The grate cleaner is the best product I have ever seen for removing old grease and burnt on particles.
 
  #4  
Old 07-12-15, 09:08 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 78
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for your rely PJMax.

I am still not able to find the model#, but yes it looks like XL-44.

also before opening the electrodes, I am not sure what I am going to clean in there, to make flame go higher

The problem I have is low flame-- going through the technical service guide, I couldn't clearly understand how would I adjust flame or clean which part? your help is much appreciated.



#2) Thank you Brian,

from what i see the burners look clean. but let me know if you still think it needs cleaning with that material.

range pic
Name:  20150712_111635[1].jpg
Views: 117
Size:  24.4 KB



gas:

Name:  20150712_111650[1].jpg
Views: 87
Size:  27.4 KB



burner:

Name:  burner.jpg
Views: 96
Size:  48.1 KB



burner reversed:
Name:  20150712_111821[1].jpg
Views: 130
Size:  37.1 KB



burner:

Name:  20150712_111833[1].jpg
Views: 99
Size:  32.0 KB



rage without burner:

Name:  20150712_111857[1].jpg
Views: 70
Size:  20.0 KB
 

Last edited by sendi_t34; 07-12-15 at 09:45 AM.
  #5  
Old 07-12-15, 09:21 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,483
Received 1,421 Votes on 1,314 Posts
I was under the impression you needed to clean under the stove top. There are no adjustments for gas to the burners. There is a regulator that controls the gas flow to the entire unit.

Is it one burner with a low flame or all of them ?
Is the range operating on natural gas or propane ?
 
  #6  
Old 07-12-15, 09:47 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 78
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry for the confusion Pete.

A1.) all burners are slow. including the one in pic.

A2.) it uses Natural Gas.

not sure where is the regulator (did you mean the knob?), we never touched any internal part of this appliance or tuned it before. so is there a chance that over time regulator changes its settings or side effects?
 
  #7  
Old 07-18-15, 08:10 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 78
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Any further help?
new Ideas?
 
  #8  
Old 07-18-15, 10:07 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,483
Received 1,421 Votes on 1,314 Posts
I see a lot of complaints about GE burners being undersized and slow to cook.

Does the oven work properly..... as far as you can tell ?
Did one burner at a time start to fail.... or did they all get low at the same time ?
 
  #9  
Old 07-18-15, 11:34 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 78
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
one burner at a time start to fail, not all together.

also, should I ask Sears guys to come and check (about ~$70 to come + fix charge), or is there is nothing they can do that I cant?
 
  #10  
Old 07-18-15, 11:41 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,483
Received 1,421 Votes on 1,314 Posts
One more thing you could try. There is an orifice below each burner. It is a very tiny hole in a brass fitting that controls the amount of gas entering the burner. You need something very thin to insert into the hole to clean it. Some items are a strand of twisted wire, guitar string, a strand from a wire brush.

Name:  GE_orf.jpg
Views: 78
Size:  23.3 KB
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: