GE XL44 gas oven wont work

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-15-15, 06:03 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
GE XL44 gas oven wont work

I have a GE XL44 gas stove,, top all 4 burnes to cook work fine , but went to turn on oven to preheat and after bout 5 mins nothing , i dont even smell gas , i just bought this stove from a family friend n trusted their word when they said oven works n it doesnt,, what can it be i have no experience in fixn stoves but doesn't look complicated,, Does anyone know what can be problem please,, thanks
 
  #2  
Old 07-15-15, 06:53 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,483
Received 1,421 Votes on 1,314 Posts
XL-44 is a trade name. You need to post the actual model number.

It sounds like you need a new igniter. Please read the following thread.....
http://www.doityourself.com/forum/ga...-igniting.html
 
  #3  
Old 07-15-15, 07:06 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Model# JGBP31WEC3WW ,,,, does this oven have 2 ignitors or 1?? Looks like oven has burners on top n on bottm
 
  #4  
Old 07-15-15, 08:53 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,483
Received 1,421 Votes on 1,314 Posts
The OEM part number for your igniter is WB2X9154. There are two..... one for bake and one for the broiler.

The broiler is the burner at the top of the oven. The bake burner is under the metal tray at the bottom of the oven.
 
  #5  
Old 07-15-15, 08:58 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can i just replace the bake one?? Will it still work?? Cause we never use broiler
 
  #6  
Old 07-15-15, 09:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,483
Received 1,421 Votes on 1,314 Posts
Yes.... replace just the bottom one. You should find that the broiler still works.
 
  #7  
Old 07-15-15, 10:18 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I did turn knob to broiler too n that one didnt work either unless bottom one needs to work so the top one can work, does it??
 
  #8  
Old 07-15-15, 10:24 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,483
Received 1,421 Votes on 1,314 Posts
Broiler should work independently from oven.

Did you just use self clean on the oven ?

Try putting it into broiler. Allow it several minutes to warm up. You should be able to turn it on, open the oven door and watch it glow.
 
  #9  
Old 07-15-15, 10:36 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I tryd on broiler n after several minutes the preheat lite starts blinkn n beeping n on timer it says F3 blinking too
 
  #10  
Old 07-15-15, 10:46 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,483
Received 1,421 Votes on 1,314 Posts
You put it into broil and you got the F3 code ?
Do you get the F3 code when you put it in bake ?

The F3 code means the oven's control board is not sensing the oven temperature sensor.
You may need an ohmmeter to check the resistance of the oven temperature sensor.
Do you have a meter ?
 
  #11  
Old 07-15-15, 10:52 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yeap it does the F3 code on bake too,, no i dont have a meter n iv never used one either,, ... So wat do i have to replace to fix problem then??
 
  #12  
Old 07-15-15, 11:24 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,483
Received 1,421 Votes on 1,314 Posts
An open sensor or open in the sensor circuit will keep oven from lighting and give you the F3 code.

The OEM part number for the oven temperature sensor is WB21X5301. In the link below is one place that has the part but they also have a video that shows replacement. There are three places that can cause the problem.
1) the sensor is bad
2) the plug where the sensor is plugged in is loose or defective
3) the plug where it connects to the control board is loose.

GE WB21X5301 Oven Sensor Assembly - Appliance Parts Pros

The first place to start is to unplug the sensor and to measure its resistance. It should be around 1100 ohms at room temperature. If not.... it needs to be replaced.

If you don't have a meter you'll need to get an inexpensive meter or take the temperature sensor probe out and take it to an appliance parts retailer where they could check it for you.
 
  #13  
Old 07-15-15, 11:26 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok thanks il take it out tomorrow n check ,, il keep u updated
 
  #14  
Old 07-16-15, 02:05 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 27
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Fixed,, found 2 loose plugs,, the temperature sensor and bottom igniter plug loose,, now everything works good,, thanks for the info PJmax,, you saved me from spending money u da man
 
  #15  
Old 07-16-15, 06:31 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,483
Received 1,421 Votes on 1,314 Posts
Awesome news. Thanks for letting us know the outcome.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: