Old Roper gas range, burners and oven light intermitently

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-16-15, 03:33 PM
Z
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Old Roper gas range, burners and oven light intermitently

I have an old Roper gas range and the burners and the oven are now lighting (or not lighting) intermittently.

Usually when the burners do not light, they all do not light. The oven can be lighting and sometimes it does also does not light. However it has never happen that the oven would not work and the burners do.

Finally I have noticed that the flame is not completely blue (orange flames).

Anything I can do about it. Otherwise the stove heats fine (if you light it with a match) and I would ate to have to throw it away.

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 09-16-15, 06:01 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,483
Received 1,421 Votes on 1,314 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You had posted your question in another thread and I replied there.
This will be your thread here.

Those are separate systems and one doesn't usually affect the other unless it's a gas issue.

Is your stove running on natural gas or propane ?
Are there pilot lights on the stove top burners and in the oven ?
 
  #3  
Old 09-19-15, 05:13 AM
Z
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. First, it is an old Roper 133. It is running on whatever gas comes from the gas lines in Baltimore
Not sure if there are pilot lights...
I know, not very helpful
 
  #4  
Old 09-20-15, 05:04 PM
Z
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Upon inspection - there are no pilot lights - it is pilotless ignition.
Please see photo

Attachment 56348
 
  #5  
Old 09-20-15, 05:08 PM
Z
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Roper gas range photo

Name:  RoperStove.jpg
Views: 1781
Size:  37.1 KB
Here is another attempt to post the photo
 
  #6  
Old 09-21-15, 06:40 AM
Sharp Advice's Avatar
Admin Emeritus
Join Date: Feb 1998
Location: The Shake and Bake State USA
Posts: 10,398
Received 5 Votes on 4 Posts
Hello: Zhena

Not lighting? Kindly explain how! Sparkers work? Yes or No? If the sparkers do not spark and is the reason the burners do not light, that's one problem. If the sparkers do spark but burners do not always light that's another problem. That model is sensitive to fuel and air mixture ratios.

"It is running on whatever gas comes from the gas lines in Baltimore."
The gas you're using is natural gas, not propane if gas supplied from and thru the gas company lines. Natural gas density does at times verify slightly.

If sparkers are working and burners at times fail to ignite, slightly close the air shutters on the burner tubes of the top burners first. Note the differences. Slightly richer fuel mixture ignites faster if done correctly.

BTW: Orange flames indicate the burning of dust in the air. Not a hazard nor unsafe.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: