Jenn Aire downdraft: eyes watering and nose burns

Old 09-21-15, 07:55 PM
T
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Jenn Aire downdraft: eyes watering and nose burns

When using the oven, my wife gets these symptoms...even worse when broiling. The range is brand new and had a technician come out(under warranty) and said it was normal? Any thoughts?

Separated from... http://www.doityourself.com/forum/ga...hen-using.html

Last edited by PJmax; 09-21-15 at 10:37 PM. Reason: started new thread
Old 09-21-15, 10:42 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,399 Votes on 1,296 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I moved you to your own thread as the one you posted to was fairly old and these types of problems need to be addressed on a case by case basis.

I'm not an expert on Jenn-Air stoves..... some fumes are normal but it's not normal to be affected like that.

Is this appliance running on propane or natural gas ?
Can you observe the flames ?
Are they mostly blue in color or a lot of orange ?

Old 09-22-15, 08:12 AM
Admin Emeritus
Received 5 Votes on 4 Posts
Hello Tomavery and Welcome to the Do It Yourself Web Site and the Gas Appliances topic.

Condition described is not normal. You live in SC. Suggest you call the gas company, if using natural gas, and request in home free service. Number on the gas bill.

There are several possible causes that one needs to diagnose and then determine the cause. What you can due is remove everything from inside oven and broiler. No foil and no cooking stuff. Just the racks as appliance came from factory.

Possible the cause may be a result of stuff in oven or foil or to large a baking pan etc. in oven. Restricting air flow which causes smothering flames and odors etc. Look at flames if possible thru broiler door if the is a glass window pane. Flames must be all blue and base of flames remain on the burner. Flame size not to exceed flame spread plate. That's the metal plate directly above flames attached to top of burner.