Hotpoint oven taking long to ignite

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-06-15, 06:36 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 702
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Hotpoint oven taking long to ignite

Hey guys, we have this unit in the link below in our rented apartment and the tenant who vacated says it slowly started taking too long to turn on the oven over the years, anywhere between 2-12 minutes or so. No issues with the 4 burners in the stove section so I am wondering if we need to replace or can the oven issue be fixed by myself please?

http://products.geappliances.com/App...A724EKWH#tab1_
 
  #2  
Old 10-06-15, 11:50 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,456
Received 1,417 Votes on 1,310 Posts
Is that the exact model number.... RGA724EKWH ?

More than likely it needs the oven igniter replaced. An easy DIY job.
 
  #3  
Old 10-07-15, 04:33 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 702
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Not sure on the model number, will get it to be sure. Meantime, since I would need to shut off the gas then disconnect the gas hose line to pull the range out to get free space to work on the switch, when done and reconnecting the gas hose line would I need to bleed anything afterwards?
 
  #4  
Old 10-07-15, 12:08 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,456
Received 1,417 Votes on 1,310 Posts
The igniter can probably be replaced from the front without moving the range.

If you do need to remove the range for any reason..... you can purge air out of the gas line by turning on one of the stove top burners until it lights.
 
  #5  
Old 10-07-15, 12:34 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 702
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Got it, get back to you whenever I get the part, thanks!
 
  #6  
Old 10-08-15, 09:24 AM
Sharp Advice's Avatar
Admin Emeritus
Join Date: Feb 1998
Location: The Shake and Bake State USA
Posts: 10,398
Received 5 Votes on 4 Posts


There should be no need to shut off the gas nor remove gas line or move the appliance. Remove the racks & lower oven panel. Then carefully remove the existing igniter noting how it is presently installed.

Replace old one with new exactly as the present one is installed. Should be two screws securing it in place. Be sure to get an exact duplicate igniter. Install it very carefully as they are fragile parts and break easily.... Post back the final results so others reading this post learn too. Additional advice in the sticky note too.
 
  #7  
Old 10-08-15, 09:47 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 702
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Thanks for the advice, will get the model number on Saturday morning and will order the original part and will report back here when I am done. What is confusing me however is that when we turned the oven knob on, we did not smell any gas at all and I am guessing the previous tenant didn't smell any gas even when the knob was turned to any temp and left on for 10 minutes, when you turn on an oven knob are you supposed to smell gas if the igniter is not working properly?
 
  #8  
Old 10-08-15, 01:49 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,456
Received 1,417 Votes on 1,310 Posts
In a modern oven..... the igniter is in series with the gas valve. When you apply power the igniter starts to glow. It is drawing current thru the gas valve but not enough to open it. After 30-45 seconds the igniter glows brilliant orange almost white. When it reaches this point the current it draws peaks and the gas valve opens.

If it doesn't get to the white hot state.... the valve won't open.
 
  #9  
Old 10-09-15, 04:28 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 702
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
So just to be 100% clear I understand this, with any oven that has an electronic igniter, you can turn the temp knob to any temp and leave on for infinity and as long as the igniter doesn't do it's job to open the gas valve then NO gas will escape, is this accurate please?
 
  #10  
Old 10-09-15, 07:40 AM
Sharp Advice's Avatar
Admin Emeritus
Join Date: Feb 1998
Location: The Shake and Bake State USA
Posts: 10,398
Received 5 Votes on 4 Posts


Yes. Correct and accurate.

Engineered intentionally that way for safety...
 
  #11  
Old 10-09-15, 08:17 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 702
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Ok, thanks for clarifying!
 
  #12  
Old 10-20-15, 08:27 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 702
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
So last night I took pics of that stove but could not find a tag anywhere in, front or back of that unit so i don't know what the model is. I tried sending the Pics to Hotpoint but they said:

Unfortunately, we cannot identify which model you have by viewing your pictures. We have literally made thousands of models over the years and many models may have a slightly different model number due to running changes. However, if you need help locating your model and serial number, please click the link below for more information:

GE Model and Serial Number Locator

So what do I do now guys, if I call a Sears repairman, that will cost a lot of money I don't have, honestly not being cheap.

Name:  20151019_195541_resized.jpg
Views: 454
Size:  21.1 KB

Name:  20151019_195548_resized.jpg
Views: 412
Size:  34.6 KB
 
  #13  
Old 10-20-15, 09:29 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,456
Received 1,417 Votes on 1,310 Posts
Pull out the bottom drawer and check the upper edge just below the oven door.
 
  #14  
Old 10-26-15, 02:03 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 702
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
No tag there either, please see attached pic for an inverted look at what I think is the ignition system? I have no idea what to do now, last year I called a repairman for my washing machine, seems like he had ordered a substitute part which did not fit properly and four months later that machine went on the blink again so I paid $800 for a new machine therefore I have no desire to chance this again unless no way I can get the right part. Not at all saying every repairman is like that guy of course.
 

Last edited by mikehende; 10-26-15 at 02:19 PM.
  #15  
Old 10-26-15, 02:09 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 702
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Sorry, first pic is the actual view from under the oven and 2nd pic is the view flipped around:
 
Attached Images  
  #16  
Old 10-26-15, 02:18 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 702
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Please this 2nd pic attached:
 
Attached Images  
  #17  
Old 10-27-15, 12:24 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,456
Received 1,417 Votes on 1,310 Posts
Sorry Mike... without a model number I'd just be guessing. Even if I could see the igniter clearly in your picture..... they all look alike.

You don't have sealed top stove. Try removing the grates and burners and lift the stove top up from the front. It may be under there.
 
  #18  
Old 10-27-15, 06:08 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 702
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
You were correct, thanks! This should be it, any help in finding the correct model and switch will be appreciated.
 
Attached Images  
  #19  
Old 10-27-15, 06:12 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 702
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
sorry, here's a larger shot.
 
Attached Images  
  #20  
Old 10-28-15, 12:48 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,456
Received 1,417 Votes on 1,310 Posts
Your model number is RGA724EK1WH ..... Your igniter is part number WB13K10024

You can use that part number to search online for a replacement. You can also check with your local appliance parts retailer.

The video below is produced by one company that can supply you the part. The video is a tutorial for replacing the igniter in a GE stove. One word of advice..... handle the igniter like an egg. It is extremely fragile and will break if dropped or hit.

You Tube / GE igniter replacment video
 
  #21  
Old 10-28-15, 09:37 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 702
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
This was the conversation between myself and a GE chat agent:

Geoff: That is the correct part number for igniter glowbar. https://www.geapplianceparts.com/sto...pec/WB13K10024 Here is the part breakdown for your model range. https://www.geapplianceparts.com/sto...Type=ModelType It will take a bit before the oven ignites and this would be normal. You would need igniter if the oven never ignited.
mike henderson: Are you saying that is how the oven was made that it can take anywhere between 2-15 minutes to ignite?
Geoff: Here is the link about pilotless ignition on ovens. Benefit of Automatic Pilotless Ignition on Gas Ranges
Geoff: I am not aware of it taking 15 minutes but a few minutes would be normal.

According to his link, this part costs over $192.00?
 
  #22  
Old 10-28-15, 09:59 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,456
Received 1,417 Votes on 1,310 Posts
Up to 90 seconds would be normal..... no longer.

That is a generic igniter. You don't have to buy from GE.
Like I mentioned.... the company that produced that video sells it. They happen to have it at a good price AND they are a reliable company.

GE WB13K10024 Igniter Glowbar - Appliance Parts Pros

Another online retailer
WB13K10024 Igniter Glowbar
 
  #23  
Old 10-29-15, 04:59 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 702
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Alright so what the rep said here:

"You would need igniter if the oven never ignited."

I am guessing that's not accurate?
 
  #24  
Old 10-30-15, 01:08 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 702
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Man, I turned the temp knob on waited a full 12 minutes and it doesn't ignite so tell me, I am always worried about replacement parts, can you tell me if the part you linked to costing 99.49 is the exact substitute for this please?
 
  #25  
Old 10-30-15, 02:15 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 702
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Np, I called them and they said it's an exact substitute. I just called a referred local repairman, he said he can do the job for $150 with 3 months both labor and parts warranty. I am thinking if I will need to pay $107 for the part alone then this should be a better decision? My main concern is that I don't end up in same situation like the last guy so I will explain that to him and take a chance, mainly because I will always have need of an appliance repairman so I might as well start now and try this second guy out. If it should not work out then I buy a new unit, keep you posted, thanks!.
 
  #26  
Old 10-30-15, 11:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,456
Received 1,417 Votes on 1,310 Posts
Alright so what the rep said here:

"You would need igniter if the oven never ignited."

I am guessing that's not accurate?
Yes.... you are correct. That IS NOT accurate.
 
  #27  
Old 11-02-15, 06:01 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 702
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
The repairman changed the part yesterday, now the oven ignites in about a minute or so, appreciate the help guys!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: