Hotpoint oven not turning off?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-25-15, 07:27 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 702
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Hotpoint oven not turning off?

Hey guys, last month we replaced the glowbar and today this oven is not turning off, I am being told it's the thermostat which needs to be replaced? If so, any instructions on how to do this myself please? Model number is RGA724EK1WH
 
  #2  
Old 12-25-15, 10:42 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,403
Received 1,404 Votes on 1,299 Posts
To confirm it's not a stuck gas valve.... unplugging stove should turn oven off.

That oven uses a basic mechanical thermostat. No complicated electronics involved. Two or three wires on the thermostat. The biggest problem is that is uses a capillary tube for heat sensing so that copper looking tube and bulb needs to be re-run thru the appliance.

Since you'll need to turn the power off and remove the old one first.... you can observe how they've run the tube. The tube must be dressed to be kept from hitting any live electrical connections and cannot be bent sharply.

Name:  oven-thermostat.jpg
Views: 1585
Size:  26.3 KB

Part number -WB20K8
This is a video for an electric oven but the instructions are very similar.
you tube/watch?v=LHkRPWBKX28
 
  #3  
Old 12-25-15, 11:45 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 702
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
When I looked up the thermostat it was showing around $30 online but the local tech told me it costs around $120?
 
  #4  
Old 12-25-15, 11:49 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,403
Received 1,404 Votes on 1,299 Posts
An average price is around $90. The lowest online I've seen it for is $65.
 
  #5  
Old 12-26-15, 05:30 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 702
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Yes, you're correct, my mistake. The guy who did the last repair with the glowbar told me he will install the thermostat for $120 so I will go that way again. I would like you guys to know that while this is a doityourself forum and I come here to you for help, just because I decide to hire a pro to do a job does not mean you guys are wasting your time. Whenever I have to make decisions concerning whether to tackle a project myself or hire a pro, I do so after considering the info you guys give to me here so whenever I should hire a pro your advice is always totally appreciated and helpful!
 
  #6  
Old 12-26-15, 10:47 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,403
Received 1,404 Votes on 1,299 Posts
No problem.... glad to be of service anyway.
 
  #7  
Old 12-28-15, 05:13 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 702
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
The Tech replaced the part so all is well for now. Tell me this guys, are there stoves which give more flame or heat than others so can cook your food faster or are all flame levels standard for whatever size this is around 30 inches please?
 
  #8  
Old 12-28-15, 05:28 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,403
Received 1,404 Votes on 1,299 Posts
In standard, homeowner type, ovens the flame levels are pretty much the same and I believe the oven operates around 30K BTU's.

When you get into the higher end appliances, like Viking, Thermador, Wolf, etc. the burner can be twice the size.
 
  #9  
Old 12-28-15, 05:34 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 702
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
To clarify, you would have larger burners or more flames even for 30" stoves?
 
  #10  
Old 12-28-15, 08:31 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,403
Received 1,404 Votes on 1,299 Posts
You'd have larger burner inside the oven making for bigger flames. I'm not exactly sure if that pertains to their 30" models. You'd have to look them up.
 
  #11  
Old 12-29-15, 05:54 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 702
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
You mentioned "inside the oven", I was referring to the 4 "stovetop" burners and flames, please clarify if this was what you were to please? The reason I'm asking this question is the tenant said they would like to get a stove [not oven] which cooks faster so I am looking into this to see if there are 30" stoves with larger burners or more or higher flames.
 
  #12  
Old 12-29-15, 01:57 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,403
Received 1,404 Votes on 1,299 Posts
So you are looking for high output burners for the stove top.

In looking around I see Maytag has a power burner. Frigidaire also offers larger burners.

The burner size is expressed in BTU's. The largest available being 22k while a simmer burner would be 5k. An average large burner would be around 17k.
 
  #13  
Old 12-29-15, 02:03 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 702
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Yeah, I am wondering if purchasing a new 30" Hotpoint stove would produce more heat/flame/burner than the existing 5 year old stove.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: