new ge range-wont stop clicking


  #1  
Old 05-22-16, 04:21 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
new ge range-wont stop clicking

Just bought new GE JGB660SEJSS gas range.

Install went fine and it worked.

One hour after install I was testing out all the burners and the middle burner will now not stop trying to ignite-keeps on "clicking".

We're doing a return/replace since its within HD's 48 hour window but they can't do it for a week or so-any easy fixes to try?

Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 05-22-16, 04:39 AM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,982
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You might kill your warranty, if you touch it. They have some nerve to tell you that. Tell them that you don't want the stove. Order from another supplier.
 

Last edited by Pulpo; 05-22-16 at 04:54 AM.
  #3  
Old 05-22-16, 04:54 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
hmm good point-i figure its all done with the return/replace so I could play a bit but why hassle.
 
  #4  
Old 05-22-16, 04:57 AM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,982
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
While you responded, I edited my post. Return the stove. Order from another supplier.
 
  #5  
Old 05-22-16, 10:18 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,638
Received 1,610 Votes on 1,482 Posts
the middle burner will now not stop trying to ignite-keeps on "clicking".
Is that when the valve is on and the burner is lit or when all controls are OFF.

If it's when lit.... make sure the burner caps are on correctly..... and in their correct locations.
 
  #6  
Old 05-22-16, 10:46 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Its when all controls are OFF.

The middle burner is the problem child. If we turn it on (and it lights maybe 4 times out of ten) the clicking stops. In the OFF position it keeps on clicking.

m
 
  #7  
Old 05-22-16, 10:53 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,638
Received 1,610 Votes on 1,482 Posts
Ok... if it happens when all the controls are off then it's a switch on the valve or a defective spark module.

Just curious.... is the stove plugged into a grounded three prong receptacle ?
 
  #8  
Old 05-22-16, 12:14 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
just bought an outlet tester. the outlet is grounded.

BUT and this is unrelated but related and good for a new thread........
the wife shorted out our very old oven by spilling soup on it. we decided to just get a new oven.
behind the stove we found two sets of outlets almost side by side; weird. no circuit breaker went off so i didn't think to test the outlets until now. the outlet the stove was plugged into is dead. the other outlet is fine and grounded. should i be worried about the dead outlet? surprised no breaker went off....

thanks
 
  #9  
Old 05-22-16, 01:43 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
two sets of outlets almost side by side; weird
Maybe the other receptacle went dead and they ran a new one. You might open it and see if it has wires connected? Also open the breaker panel and look for disconnected wires.
 
  #10  
Old 05-22-16, 05:25 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,450
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If the range is otherwise fine, I think it would be easier to have it repaired under warranty than removing and replacing it.
 
  #11  
Old 05-22-16, 05:35 PM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,982
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think it would be easier to have it repaired under warranty than removing and replacing it.
That thing is cursed. So is HD. Buy from somewhere else.
 
  #12  
Old 05-22-16, 05:49 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,450
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You might know better Pulpo, so I'll agree. Personally I don't care for GE appliances, even the top of the line such as Profile or Monogram.

The only exception I would make is the GE double wall oven, it looks very nice.
 
  #13  
Old 05-22-16, 06:55 PM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,982
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Personally I don't care for GE appliances,
You know the old saying, they don't make them like they used to.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: