Gas Stove Burner Won't Light

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-01-19, 10:23 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 44
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Gas Stove Burner Won't Light

I have a Whirlpool gas stove where the largest burner won't light without a match. I see a spark from the igniter and I cleaned the burner already. Is it possible that the igniter is still bad? Any way to test? Anything else I should try?

If the igniter needs to be replaced I would have to open the top of the stove. Majority of the burner screws are stripped so I probably would have to drill them. Would I be better off just buying a new stove then?

Thanks,

Doug
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-01-19, 11:23 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,717
Received 1,180 Votes on 1,093 Posts
If you see the spark coming off the igniter and jumping to the burner.... then the small holes in the burner that supply gas directly to that area are most likely plugged. Take the burner off and check them out.
 
  #3  
Old 02-02-19, 08:48 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 44
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The burner doesn't have a small hole but a small slit on the top. Pic attached. I don't see any debris blocking the slit.

Name:  IMG_2698.jpg
Views: 96
Size:  20.2 KB

Name:  IMG_2697.jpg
Views: 78
Size:  58.0 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 02-08-19 at 08:28 PM. Reason: enlarged/labeled spreader picture
  #4  
Old 02-08-19, 08:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,717
Received 1,180 Votes on 1,093 Posts
The blue circle represents the igniter area.
Look closely..... there should be a tiny hole at the base of the flame spreader.
That is how the burner lights.
 
  #5  
Old 03-12-19, 08:39 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 44
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I got the stove top open by breaking the screws off. Is it possible that the igniter is bad even though I see the blue spark jumping around? I wanted to test the igniter with another one on the stove but those screws are also difficult to take off.
 
  #6  
Old 03-12-19, 02:14 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,717
Received 1,180 Votes on 1,093 Posts
If you see the spark where I indicated..... the igniter should be ok.
As I mentioned.... most of the time the problem is no gas to the igniter area.
 
  #7  
Old 03-12-19, 09:13 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 44
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is the surface burner I have. It doesn't have a hole for the gas to go through but slit at the top where the igniter is housed. Not sure what to replace.

 
  #8  
Old 03-13-19, 05:50 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,717
Received 1,180 Votes on 1,093 Posts
Try swapping with another one.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: