oven is not lighting what could be the problem?


  #1  
Old 03-14-19, 09:06 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 184
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
oven is not lighting what could be the problem?

Hello I have a Caloric model RWS212 wall oven. The oven stop working. I checked and there was no glow from the igniter. I installed a new igniter and the it glows and the gas turns on but the the oven still does not light. If I blow a little air on it it the igniter lights the oven.Could it be a defective Igniter even it glows and turns on the gas? If not what part could be the problem. I blew air on the over burner thinking that the holes for gas was clog and wasn't getting enough gas to light from the igniter but that didn't work. Any advise would be appreciated.
 
  #2  
Old 03-14-19, 09:23 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,579
Received 1,600 Votes on 1,474 Posts
If it was working with the old igniter and the old one failed.... you may have the wrong new igniter in now. The system is very basic. There is an igniter and a safety valve in series. The igniter needs to glow red hot in order to draw enough current to open the gas valve. There are so many companies (many off shore) making igniters that the quality can be in question. If you have a clamp-on ampmeter you can check the circuit current. It needs to be approx 3.2A.

Name:  OVEN IGNITER.jpg
Views: 51
Size:  10.5 KB
 
  #3  
Old 03-14-19, 04:01 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 184
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
how do I check to see if I am getting 3.2 amps from the igniter? I do have a meter.
 
  #4  
Old 03-14-19, 04:11 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,579
Received 1,600 Votes on 1,474 Posts
Just clamp it across one of the igniter wires.
 
  #5  
Old 03-14-19, 04:22 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 184
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
sorry I don't have a clamp on meter. I only have a Multimeter. can I test it with the multimeter?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: