Frigidaire wall oven no voltage to igniter


  #1  
Old 02-19-24, 02:09 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 14
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Frigidaire wall oven no voltage to igniter

Hey folks. I have a Frigidaire wall oven, model FGB24S5ABA, and the oven quit. The broiler works fine. I took a peek at the igniter and it wasn't getting hot, so I thought 'ha, that's it!'. Ordered a new igniter and installed it this afternoon. Put it all back together, and nothing...

So I checked the voltage at the igniter connecton and it's only getting 2.6 volts. I guess my question is, what's next to check?
 
  #2  
Old 02-19-24, 02:15 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
I'm out on the road. Be back in an hour.

Off the top of my head.... defective relay on control board.
A common Frigidaire problem.
 
  #3  
Old 02-19-24, 02:34 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 14
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Great, please think on it. Any advice is appreciated.

Hey, I'm in Jersey too! South Jersey, near Vineland.
 
  #4  
Old 02-19-24, 04:02 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
I'm back - you're front. .... North Jersey near Morristown.

I use Sear's Parts Direct for diagrams and parts views...... Sear's Parts Direct
318185430 control in white
318185431 control in black
They both show as no longer available. You may have to fix yours.
Are you up to the challenge ?
You can search by model number. There are places that will rebuild it.

The 120vac is switched directly from the control board on yellow for the oven and blue for the broiler.
 
  #5  
Old 02-19-24, 04:15 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
This is the backside of your control board. It could be defective solder or a bad relay.
The red arrow is pointing to the bake and broil relays.


I can walk you thru the repair. You could check the solder connections as soon as the board is removed. If it needs a relay... it would take a few days. Under $10 for a relay.
 
  #6  
Old 02-19-24, 05:26 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 14
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
uugghh, I hope it doesn't come to that. But since I checked the prices of a replacement oven ($900 for a no-name brand from Home Depot is the cheapest) I'll do what it takes.

I'm scheduled to work until Friday, but I'll pull the unit then and test EVERYTHING. Who knows, maybe I'll get lucky and the temp sensor went, or a wire got loose over the years.

I really appreciate your help and, uhm, keep your computer handy.... Thanks!
 
  #7  
Old 02-19-24, 05:36 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 14
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Wait, am I looking at this backward? Would it be easier to test the relays first and work my way down from there? I thought I would trace my way back but....

If I pull the unit form the wall only to find out the issue is in the front control panel, I'm gonna feel like a bigger dummass than I usually do!
 
  #8  
Old 02-19-24, 07:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
When I service I pull the oven and check for 120v out of the board.
I don't think a defective temp sensor will cause a no heat issue.
 
  #9  
Old 02-25-24, 12:39 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 14
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
So I finally got around to pulling the unit, and you seem to be right, PJ. From the control panel there is a yellow lead going to the igniter plug. When I set the oven to bake, I can hear it click in the panel, but no voltage flows to that lead. The good news is, I found a source for the relay online at $1.00 each. wouldn't have them until Thursday though.
 
  #10  
Old 02-25-24, 10:15 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
Ahhhhhh..... yes. I see you located a quality replacement.
Get a few extras as spares.
 
  #11  
Old 03-28-24, 04:00 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 14
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
sorry for such a long delay in my reply, but all the rain we've had here has created a new fire I had to deal with. PJ was right, it was the 'bake' relay in the circuit board. I found a replacement relay for $1 apiece, and had a guy at work who was good at soldering electronics. fixed now, and our oven is back up n running!

Thanks again for everybody's help.

-Dave
 
  #12  
Old 03-28-24, 05:09 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
Thanks for stopping back and letting us know how you made out.
It's very important for people accessing threads like this for help.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: