Gas Stove not working - faulty regulator?


  #1  
Old 07-18-01, 01:00 PM
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Unhappy

We have a 12 year old GE Gas Stove/oven with an electric ignition. Last week the gas range stopped working. The electric ignition works and we can see the sparks.

We soon found that the gas oven was still working. Strangely, once the gas oven is turned on the gas range starts working, with a lower than normal intensity/flame.

The service repair person says most probably it is faulty regulator and he changed the valve position to manual (from automatic) until he can get the part in.

Is the problem with faulty regulator ?

Thanks


 
  #2  
Old 07-18-01, 08:41 PM
Sharp Advice's Avatar
Admin Emeritus
Join Date: Feb 1998
Location: The Shake and Bake State USA
Posts: 10,398
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Hello Atulk and Welcome to the Do It Yourself Web Site and my Gas Appliance forum.

The gas appliance regulator can cause the problem you discribed. Usually the regualtor vent hole becomes clogged up. Clearing it sometimes works. If not, yes it's true, the gas appliance regulator, the part the appliance person has on order, must be replaced.

The houseline gas pressure can also cause this type of problem. The stove is usually the first place higher then normal houseline pressure is noticed.

If the gas companies regulator, the one at the meter, allows too much gas pressure into the houseline, the problem you discribed happens.

Over pressuring the gas into the house by the gas companies regulator causes the appliance regulator on the stove to lock up. It will also cause other gas appliances to have the same problem without your knowing it in the early stages.

Best suggestion is to have the gas company come over, check your stove and also check their gas regulator presure asap.

When the service rep from the gas company arrives, tell him/her to verify that the "natural gas houseline pressure is between 7 to 10 inches of water column on lockup."

Regards & Good Luck
Forum Moderator
Tom_Bartco
Energy Conservation Consultant & Natural Gas Appliance Diagnostics Technician.
 
  #3  
Old 07-20-01, 01:34 PM
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Tom,

Thanks for the really detailed reply. Couple of things, we had another a repair person come in and we found out that there is no auto/manual selector on the regulator. The regulator does allow a selection between Propane and Natural Gas, we were mislead by the first repairperson. Anyway, the second repairperson could not DEFINITELY say that it was a regulator problem!! he claimed it was the GAS pressure to the house.

We called the Gas co to check the pressure. They checked the pressure and claim it is fine. According to them it should be around 5.8.

So now we have a choice of waiting for 10 seconds for the stove to light or pay the repairperson to change the regulator. All other GAS appliances are working fine.

We are going to get the regulator replaced, is there anything else we can check for?
 
  #4  
Old 07-20-01, 07:58 PM
Sharp Advice's Avatar
Admin Emeritus
Join Date: Feb 1998
Location: The Shake and Bake State USA
Posts: 10,398
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Hello Atul

As I mentioned prior, I suspected the gas meter's regulator to be overpressuring the houseline. Under pressuring can also cause the symptoms. In my opinion, 5.8 is too low.

The symptoms can vary hour to hour also. Both over pressure and under pressure can appear, caused by a faulty gas meter regulator, based upon when the last automatically operated appliance was used. {Automatic meaning an appliance that automatically turns on/off like a water heater, etc.}

Since you already had that test done, have the stove appliance regulator replaced and reply back with the updated info.

Regards,
Tom
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: