Excessive Drying Time

Old 04-24-02, 08:11 PM
dietrologia
Visiting Guest
Thumbs down Hotpoint gas dryer, heat won't stay on

Hey, thanks for the great info on the site.

I used the info found here to replace a broken belt on my old Hotpoint gas dryer (model DLL 1550BGLWH). Took it apart and install went fine.

Now my clothes are taking around 1 1/2 - 2 hrs to dry. Clothes get mildly warm, but not hot. Blower works fine... vent unobstructed.

Checked out the gas--igniter glows up fine and gas ignites okay. Gas stays lit for about 30secs to a minute before I hear a "click" at the two front coils area and then the gas goes off. I sat there for a bit and the gas didn't reignite. Obviously it does ignite at some point again, but the gas isn't burning near long enough as it should to dry properly.

Question: anything I can "tweak" or adjust to increase the gas-burning cycle before it shuts off again? I'm just a layman, but it seems like some thermostat or sensor is kicking in too early and shuting off the gas.

Thank you for any help, I really appreciate it.

-Chris in Pacifica

Old 04-25-02, 11:15 AM
A
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Hey,
How you doing ? Alot of times the gas coils will do this after they get old.They have a Tendency to heat up and then fail.I would replace the coils,if you check them for continuity they'll probably show good if cold,but when the heat hits them they weaken and close.

Old 04-25-02, 04:02 PM
dietrologia
Visiting Guest
Thank you for your reply.

I figure the problem is either a) the valve coils or b) the thermosensor.

I figure I'll bypass the thermosensor and run the dryer. If the gas stays on... it's the sensor. If the gas still shuts off early, it's the coils that need replacing.

-Chris in Pacifica

Old 04-25-02, 05:38 PM
Admin Emeritus
Received 7 Upvotes on 6 Posts
HI: dietrologia