Gas furnance maintanance


  #1  
Old 08-19-02, 02:50 PM
1
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 57
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Gas furnance maintanance

We moved to our new house 4months back. Forced air Gas furnance is about 15 to 20 yrs old and works fine.
How to maintain it? How to change or replace filter? What types of filters available?
We do not any manuals for it.
Also, is it better to replace the current furnance with new one for efficiency even though it works fine?

Thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 08-19-02, 03:02 PM
hvac4u's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NW atlanta
Posts: 3,145
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
replacement

would be a good idea if you are planning to be there for several years. a new furnace would pay you back in efficiency and reliability. your filter is possibly located in the blower compartment of the furnace, or near the return air inlet. some are located in the return grille itself. types of filters vary with efficiency. a pleated one inch filter would probably be the best bet, check local hd or lowes for various efficiencies. if anyone has allergies, you may want to go with a higher efficiency filter, spaceguard or airbear/trion, etc. maintenance wise, check the burner assy for rust, shine a light into the heat exchanger (where the flames burn) and look for cracks or holes. if you find some replace the furnace. check the motor for oil ports, it may not be permanently sealed, and may take oil.
 
  #3  
Old 08-21-02, 07:05 PM
1
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 57
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question More questions

Thanks for replying.

More Questions:

1. On the duct (On top of blower) there is on/off switch. What is this for? Is it going to turn on/off the gas or furnance?

2. The filter on the return duct has also on/off switch for cleaning.
Is this automatic cleaning filter? It was turned off when we moved in. Should I turn this on for cleaning filter? For How long?
Also, do I need to shut off furnace when I do this?
 
  #4  
Old 08-22-02, 08:14 PM
hvac4u's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NW atlanta
Posts: 3,145
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
switches

the top one probably is power to the furnace, and the one at the filter is more than likely powering an electronic air cleaner. these switches should be on for operation, and off for maintenance.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: