Opening Dampers

Old 09-23-02, 09:39 AM
jcg1577
Visiting Guest
Unhappy How to open air duct damper behind drywall???

Hello, I am very new to the heating and cooling world but have a big problem. We had our basement finished by a contractor and they forgot to open up the dampers on the heating/cooling ducts in the basement before they put drwall up.

Now the basement is finished, but I have no air down there. I tried calling them back and of course nobody returns my call. Is there a way to get the damper open without having to cut out the drywall and manually turn the lever? Is there some type of tool or should a local HVAC person have a tool to open the damper in the duct? I would hate to have to cut holes in the drywall and then have to try and match it up.

Any replies would be great. Thanks

Old 09-24-02, 09:01 PM
Admin Emeritus
Received 5 Votes on 4 Posts
Hello: jcg1577

Since your question remains unanswered, something I prefer not to happen and "any replies would be great" common sense rules.

Try running a plumbers snake down or up the ducting. You'll have to do this very carefully so as not to wedge the snake into a place or postion where it could jam up, so proceed very carefully.

Remove a register if need be and if it is closest to the damper. If not, attempt to access the vent closer near the heating unit if possible. Same careful rule applies.

Another idea is to lower a heavy weighted object about the same dismeter as the ducting tube on a rope down the ducting. The idea here would be to hopefully get the object on the rope to weigh down on the upper half of the baffel and force it open.

I idea here should be obvious. Finding some means to acconplish the task without opening up a wall... Crazy ideas granted but lets hope it's possible and one of these works...

Any professional solutions, other than opening up walls, are welcome.....

Regards & Good Luck, Forum Host & Moderator.