Old Stewart Warner

Old 10-07-02, 09:42 AM
Brendan A.
Visiting Guest
Old Stewart Warner

Recently I graduated from school and moved out. The apartment i have is heated by an old Stewart Warner furnace. The problem is, the furnace is all around shot, and my landlord wont replace it. Now theres plenty wrong with it. First of all, when it lights it makes a short, loud bang. Then after a few seconds the blower starts. The blower itself is noisy and rattles a lot. Its a belt and pulley system. Also, the cover for the blower compartment is missing. So its pulling in basement air and blowing it into my apartment. The building is a 2 story 4 unit. Both the first floor units have the old stewart warners. The second floor units both have newer lennox's. The problem was the humidifiers leaked into the furnace and rusted out the heat exchanger. I think that happened to mine too, which would explain the bang. Any suggestions and is this unit worth fixing? Thanks again!

Old 10-07-02, 09:56 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Brendan,

Are you paying for the gas to heat your place?? If yes, then I'd call your gas company and ask if they have a free inspection for your furnace.

They can then say if the system should be taken out of service... If they say it has to go out of service. make sure they contact your landloard!!

Also, I don't know how big the basement is with the furnaces, with the blower door cover missing, you maybe taking in fumes from the furnaces there!!!! You just may not wake up one morning.

Old 10-07-02, 10:52 AM
Brendan A.
Visiting Guest