str8 cool elect heat, need help

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-18-02, 03:41 PM
charlie856
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question str8 cool elect heat, need help

hi an thank you for any help you can give me,,,,i have an amanda spilt system, i put in a new t stat an i'm getting cooling but when i put it to heat it trips the breaker, now there is a jumper wire that goes from rc to rh, do i need to leave it there or take it out, with the jumper wire in place the heat comes on then trips the breaker in less than 2 sec, i tried changing both relays an the sequester, but it still trips, i also checked the heat strip an its good, am i doing something wrong? i think maybe it could be the breaker? can someone help me with this,,,,,thank you, again charlie,,,,,,,,,
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-18-02, 04:44 PM
hvac4u's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NW atlanta
Posts: 3,147
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
no heat

may be breaker, leave rc and rh jumped unless there is a transformer outside at the a/c. if this is a mobile home, probably has one. 2 transformers with jumper in will not trip circuit breaker. will blow low volt fuse or burn out transformer. can you check amp draw at breaker?
 
  #3  
Old 11-18-02, 06:34 PM
charlie856
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
yes i can check the amps at the breaker but what amps am i looking for?,,,the breaker says 45 on it, also the heat strip is a 7.5 kw, i will check it in the morning,,thanks again
 
  #4  
Old 11-18-02, 09:27 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,984
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
charlie856:
To diagnose this problem you need a clamp on ammeter and an ohm meter and the ability to use them correctly.
If you are not familiar with this equipment you would be advised to call a heating specialist.
You could have a weak breaker or a burned out element.
 
  #5  
Old 11-19-02, 11:24 AM
charlie856
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
hi again, ok yes i do know how to use a amp probe, i checked the strips an r good, i just ghanged the breaker an it still trips i don't understand why it keeps triping i changeed all the relays an a new t stat, on this unit the orange wire is going to y term, there is no yellow wire,, also green goes to g, ewhite goes to w2 for heatan red goes to rh which has a jumper wire going to rc,,,PLEASE HELP,,,THANKS AGAIN,,,CHARLIE
 
  #6  
Old 11-19-02, 11:47 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,984
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
charlie856:
There are many possibilities.
A/C connected to same breaker and is trying to start, used breaker and it's weak, bad element that slipped by your test(should probe on a high ohms setting to ground).
How long does it take to trip and what is the amperage when tripping?
SAFETY NOTE: You must not repeatedly reset breaker if it is constanly tripping!
Use the ohmmeter to probe individual circuits after making sure the power is off.
 
  #7  
Old 11-20-02, 04:26 AM
charlie856
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
thanks again,, now can you please tell me how to check a relay to see if its good or bad this unit has 2 relays, ab also how to check if the sequester is good or bad,,thank you,,,charlie,,,
 
  #8  
Old 11-20-02, 05:04 AM
charlie856
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
an also like to know if i jumped the tstat wires w,g, an rh together from the tstat is that safe to do to see if the breaker will teip again n will that turn the heat side on??? t/y charlie
 
  #9  
Old 11-20-02, 08:46 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,984
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
charlie856:
To explain how to test the individual components would be difficult, if you don't have some basic knowlege in electrical troubleshooting. An electric furnace with several sequencers has a mess of wiring in it that could prove difficult to rewire if you have to remove connections to test individual components.
Besides, a short is a technically simpler thing to locate than isolating individual components.
I would suggest a qualified service company do this for you.
 
  #10  
Old 11-20-02, 12:08 PM
charlie856
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
THANK YOU

thanks again, i found the problem, it was one wire that was on the relay i checked all the wires with my meter an found one wire that had a break in it just above the female conector,,you guys are THE BEST THANK YOU ALL AGAIN,,,,,,,CHARLIE,,,,
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: