Direct Spark won't ignite

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-19-02, 07:28 PM
c002pbt
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Direct Spark won't ignite

I have a lenox gas furnace with direct spark ignition. Model number is 80MGF3-75A-5

The problem is when the heat is called, gas valve opens, igniter sparks (I can hear but not sure if there are any spark) but the flame won't lit up. I can manually light the flame then it works ok until the next heat call. I took the igniter out adjusted the space between the electrodes, clean it a little bit then it works for now.

Should I replace the igniter soon or the problem is something else. Thank you for your inputs.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-19-02, 07:40 PM
rclhvac
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Try it for awhile- may just needed cleaning & adjusting
 
  #3  
Old 11-20-02, 10:21 AM
c002pbt
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Still takes more than one try to light up

Please help!!! My spark igniter still doesn't work properly. I can hear the gas valve turn off and on more than once. I secure the ground, sand paper the electrodes, and adjust the space to 1/4 of an inch. I think the control module is still good because when I check the ignition voltage, I even got sparks between the test probe and the igniter connector. Thank you for all your inputs. Another question is what is the voltage of the igniter?
 
  #4  
Old 11-21-02, 06:28 PM
hvac4u's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NW atlanta
Posts: 3,147
cut off

one inch of the ignitor (spark) wire after removing it from the board, reattach. does wonders, believe me!
 
  #5  
Old 11-22-02, 04:22 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,815
The Gap

Your gap is too big. It should be 1/8". It's jumping the spark to somewhere other than the hood. There is a closer place for the spark to jump to, it will. Does it have a pilot gas tube?
 
  #6  
Old 11-22-02, 04:26 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,815
checks

a new ignitiopn cable and ignitor are cheap enough. I believe it also sences DC micro amps thru the rectified flame thru the ignition cable. Change it if its a couple years old as part of your PM anyway.
 
  #7  
Old 11-22-02, 05:11 AM
c002pbt
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
No, it doesn't have a pilot gas tube. And thank you all, adjusting the gap to smaller does help. Thanks.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes