Removing a furnance

Old 11-21-02, 04:54 PM
isnicole
Visiting Guest
Removing a furnance

I will be switching from an oil furnance to electric baseboard heating in the next few months. The furnance is about 25 years old and works okay so I intend to put a "free ad" in the local paper to see if someone will haul it away. I was hoping to save a few dollars by disconecting the furnance myself and then having some friends help me move it into my car port for pick up.

Does anyone know how to go about disconceting a furnance - step by step - or where I could find this information (I've spent some time looking but have not found anything yet). I am not very experienced so something fairly simple?

Sponsored Links
Old 11-21-02, 05:06 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thumbs down whoa....nellie.

It's evedent this is an apartment your renting out. The cost of operating electric baseboard heat, would normally run you into the poorhouse, even a heatpump can return 3.3:1 more BTUs per kilowatt down to about 42F, and is even with electric at 27F but never lower than 1:1, oil is WAY cheaper than electric.

Old 11-21-02, 05:46 PM
isnicole
Visiting Guest
Actually, this is not a rental - this is a house we own. We are switching to electric because we need the room the furnace is taking up. We are transforming our first floor into a suite and there are a number of reasons to get rid of the furnace - first room; second - sound transfer; third - we can get away with electric in our climate (it rarely freezes here). I would love to do a heat pump but that too requires forced air etc.

I know it sounds crazy (especially to you Americans where hydro is premium) but this is what we have decided for this house and I really would like some advice.
Thanks in advance

Old 11-21-02, 05:51 PM
furnace disconnection