"Howl" in blower startup

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-16-03, 02:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 701
Likes Received: 1
"Howl" in blower startup

Carrier gas furnace, approx 10 years old. Recently when the blower starts, I've been hearing a "howl" as it begins to spin. If the noise was morse code it would be dash-dot-dot-dot-dot.

Any ideas? It sounds like something needs lubrication, but I'm out of my element.

Thanks!
Dave
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-16-03, 03:42 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
blower

Try and oil the motor with #10 oil there should be small oil ports on the motor. Check and see if it spins free by hand. Make sure the furnace is turned off when you do this. Also can you make the blower wheel go up and down by hand??? ??? ED
 
  #3  
Old 02-19-03, 06:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 701
Likes Received: 1
Thanks, I'll check those things

Thanks for your response, Ed. We had some heavy weather here, and I wasn't able to check back into DIY right away.

Carrier has downloadable owner's manuals on their website, so I'm planning to retrieve it and look at the PM section. Hopefully it will have drawings of the oil ports on the motor. I did a search for "#10 oil" but got no hits: are you referring to the "10w" motor oil designation?

Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 02-19-03, 10:43 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
blower

Yes # 10w oil for blower motor thats what we use all the time. Dont use a 3 in 1. Now some motors have an oil port and some dont its hard to say ED
 
  #5  
Old 02-20-03, 06:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 701
Likes Received: 1
Oil ports?

When I look into the cabinet I see the blower and motor, but don't see oil ports. (I haven't stuck my head in yet, just looked in from the outside with a good light.)

Your post says some motors don't have ports: what's the lubrication process if this motor doesn't have ports?

Thanks again for your help,
Dave O
 
  #6  
Old 02-21-03, 08:06 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
blower

If it is the motor for sure and no ports. I have pulled the motor pop the back cover of the shaft and work some oil in there and do the same to the front cover on the shaft.Thiswill work if the shaft is still ok. I think if it is your motor go get a new one ED
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes