Humidistat failed?


  #1  
Old 04-11-03, 11:42 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 819
Upvotes: 0
Received 26 Upvotes on 23 Posts
Humidistat failed?

We have an Aprilaire humidifier on our Carrier gas furnace. The humidifier only kicks in if it's pegged at the highest level. It won't start if I back it down by even the smallest turn of the knob. Does this mean the humidistat has failed, or is there another possible problem?

Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 04-11-03, 03:25 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,500
Received 68 Upvotes on 62 Posts
CycleZen:

There is a good possibility that the humidity is high enough.
You would need a good humidity guage to know for sure.

You can get this type of guage at WalMart or HD
http://www.theweatherstore.com/product.asp?id=218

Humidity info: http://www.appliancefactoryparts.com...-humidity.html
 
  #3  
Old 04-12-03, 08:19 PM
poleaxed
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
You may want to consider if the location of the humidistat is proper.Alot times the himidistat is located on the return air duct and if it is it should be above the intake of the april air humidifier to get a accurate reading.
 
  #4  
Old 04-13-03, 11:59 AM
H
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,731
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
fan???

Is the fan in the constant on position, if not it will never run right!
 
  #5  
Old 04-14-03, 06:17 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 819
Upvotes: 0
Received 26 Upvotes on 23 Posts
Thanks, everyone

... I'll check those things out. The humidistat *is* located on the air-return, so it looks like some finesse will be required.

Thanks again!
Dave O
 
  #6  
Old 04-14-03, 06:29 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,500
Received 68 Upvotes on 62 Posts
CycleZen:

A humidistat on the return air should work just fine.
This time of year I suspect that you do not have a problem and the control is just satisfied.
A digital humidity guage will diagnose this for you.
 
  #7  
Old 04-14-03, 11:33 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 819
Upvotes: 0
Received 26 Upvotes on 23 Posts
Glad to hear the system wasn't designed wrong

Thanks, Greg- I wondered if the humidity was too high to trip the humidistat, too. I can hear when the humidifier does and doesn't come on (it makes a sound), and I only hear it start when the humidifier is maxed. When I turn the sensitivity down even just a hair it doesn't come on, and that's been happening for a couple months, now. My sense is that the humidity can't be that stable for that long a time.

I'll check out the humidity guage, tho, just to be sure. Thanks!
 
  #8  
Old 04-14-03, 06:28 PM
poleaxed
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
i didnt say that the humidastat location is wrong on the return air duct but it has to be above the intake of humidifier if you want to take an accurate reading of the living space, if the stat is below the intake of the humidifier you are taking a reading of the humidifier not the living space
 
  #9  
Old 04-14-03, 06:54 PM
H
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,731
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Lightbulb accuracy

I think a better term would be BEFORE not above. You want to measure the return air moisture content BEFORE it gets near the humidifier for accuracy. The best location from experience has been to put the humidistat IN the space to condition. First of all they are cheap, replace it.....If you lower it ,and it cuts off, its because it is not working! I gaureenty it's not 90% humidity and you didn't know it. If it's 50% and you walk in you'll know it ,and you can smell the moisture.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: