Cutting the Plenum

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-05-03, 03:13 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 229
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cutting the Plenum

Hi all,

I'm tapping into my existing plenums to add some HVAC to my basement. I have a Rotozip and a circle cutting attachment for it. The drywall bits that came with the Rotozip are not cutting it - the plenum is kind of thick and insulated. Is there a Rotozip bit (I see they have tile cutting, platics/formica, etc.) that will work, or is the Rotozip the wrong tool? Looking at their selection of bits I don't see an obvious fit for cutting sheet metal.

TIA,
Jim
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-05-03, 05:59 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,135
Received 35 Votes on 33 Posts
turbojimmy:

The correct tool would be a pair of snips. I find that offset aviation snips work best.
In a pinch you could use a jig saw with a metal cutting blade.

Offset snips:http://images.orgill.com/200x200/21698.jpg
 
  #3  
Old 05-05-03, 12:29 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
cut a hole

To get a start in the duct work to cut a hole. We use a old screw driver. Put the small side of it on the sheet metal, hold it at about a 45d to the duct and then tap on the end by the duct sideways This will make a cut like a knife would in the duct. Then use the offset aircraft snips like GregH said. If you want you can drill a small hole and put the screw drive in it and tap it over to make a cut then the snips to open the hole to what you want ED
 
  #4  
Old 05-05-03, 04:13 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 229
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the replies. The guy at Home Depot, who rarely knows what he's talking about, actually had a point. He said the insulation is getting bound up in the bit and making it hot thus snapping it off. I think he's right. I'll have to look into those snips. There's not much room up there (the plenums are wedged up against the joists) but I think I can pull it off.

Jim
 
  #5  
Old 05-07-03, 06:22 PM
hvac4u's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NW atlanta
Posts: 3,147
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
you can do it

excellent pics at your site...thanks for the plug!!
 
  #6  
Old 05-08-03, 02:23 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 229
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks!

I really couldn't have done it without this site. From the planning, to the framing, to the electrical, and now HVAC. Books help but you don't pick up the nuances that only come from experience - and there's lots of experienced people here to help with that.

Jim
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: