Proper Cooling? How Do I Measure A/C Temp?

Old 05-10-03, 10:53 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Proper Cooling? How Do I Measure A/C Temp?

Unit: Trane Multi-Stage Heat Pump w/Emergency Heat

4 years old

House: Two story brick

Air vents are on the floor

Unit in Question is separate upstairs unit; the system/air exchange unit is upstairs in bonus room over garage; other rooms upstairs are 4 bedrooms and 2 baths (none of the rooms are very far from unit)

State: Central North Carolina; current temps in 80's/90's

When we had our home inspection done in October, the inspector said the upstairs air unit wasn't cooling right; the owner had an A/C company come out, and they wrote a letter saying there was nothing wrong, it was cooling properly/didn't need freon, etc.

Now that we've started using the A/C, I have to wonder if it is cooling properly. I have my A/C on 76 degrees, and it's been running for several hours, and the thermostat still says 80 (I know maybe the thermostat itself won't be what the cooling temp really is since the hallway is hotter than the rooms/no air vent in hallway); I put a thermometer (regular portable one to measure room temp) over the A/C vent, and the air coming out was only registering 79 degrees. How do you measure the proper cooling of an A/C unit? Is there a special thermometer to do this/do you stick it down the vent, or is what I did just as good?

If I have my A/C set on 76, should the air coming out of the vent also register 76?

It seems like the past few days we've been using the A/C it will run all day long and the thermostat will only go down 2 degres or so--and we have it on auto. It is upstairs, a separate unit. The hallway where the thermostat is located is a bit warm, but all the room vents are open and the doors are open. And the thermometer put in a room still is only saying the temp is 78-79 degrees, even after a few hours of A/C running.