Charging AC Unit

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-09-03, 06:18 PM
p6texas
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question Charging AC Unit

Is it possible to add freon to an outside unit without the use of gauges? Knowing very little about HVAC systems, is the freon added to the liguid or the gas side?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-10-03, 05:12 AM
Thomas W.
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Don't even try it, the unit gets charged based on temperature and pressure readings. If it is not done correctly you may be buying a new unit.
Over charging will cause just as many problems as under charging. You have to have more than just guages.
 
  #3  
Old 06-10-03, 06:18 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,930
Upvotes Received: 5
p6texas:

A/C sealed system repair is no longer a diy activity due to environmental and licensing concerns.
 
  #4  
Old 06-13-03, 12:51 PM
p6texas
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Reply

Actually after reading some of the other postings, we decided to bite the bullet and replace the inside unit. Does anyone no anything about Copeland upright airhandler units? This is the unit that our AC guy recommends for our house.
 
  #5  
Old 06-13-03, 12:57 PM
Thomas W.
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
That is a builder grade unit,( cheaper models) if you plan to stay in the house awhile I would put in a name brand unit.
Those have been known to have problems, like freon leaks after 4 or 5 years.
 
  #6  
Old 06-13-03, 03:29 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,930
Upvotes Received: 5
p6texas:

I didn't know Copeland made an air handler.
Could you be referring to an air handler with a Copeland Scroll compressor in it?
 
  #7  
Old 06-13-03, 06:53 PM
p6texas
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Ok, Thanks for the info. My wife stated that the name may have been Goodman instead of Copeland. Does that make any difference? We are planning to put this house on the market very soon.
 
  #8  
Old 06-13-03, 07:01 PM
hvac4u's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NW atlanta
Posts: 3,147
putting it on the market

then go ahead and put in the goodman, a very low end unit.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes