Experts weigh in: Compressor vs. coil size

Old 06-12-03, 11:10 PM
polyhedral
Visiting Guest
Experts weigh in: Compressor vs. coil size

Experts weigh in:
I have a 5 ton AC that needs a new compressor.
I was thinking of replacing it with a 3 1/2 ton compressor, because the system is somewhat oversized for the load anyway.

Let me say in advance that I know how important it is to match components, but is it acceptable to a point (in theory) to run a smaller compressor on higher rated coils?

Any insight on this is appreciated!

Sponsored Links
Old 06-13-03, 02:03 AM
Darkhorse
Visiting Guest
I'm no expert but before you do something like that you need to have a professional come and do a load calculation and see what size you really need. You CAN'T just guess and downsize it. Going from a 5 to a 3.5 ton is a pretty steep drop so you better make sure it's right before you just drop it. If you replace the outside unit do the indoor coil as well. With a 3.5 ton outdoor and a 5 ton indoor I would think humidity removal would suffer. I'm no expert but I've always been told the sizes should match and if not only a .5 ton difference. I've heard of people putting in an indoor coil that is a .5-1 ton smaller than the outside and supposedly improving humidity removal but I've heard others advise against that.

Match the sizes and get a load calculation done before you think about changing sizes. Also, you can't go by square footage in determining what size you need. Get someone out who will do a thorough load calculation. This will involve carefully measuring each and every room, window, door.etc. It will also consider R-value of your insulation in the ceiling and walls and what type of windows you have. Size of outside walls will also be considered and type of siding, slab or basement will be factored in as well. If someone comes and just looks at the house and guesses or just measures rooms and doesn't look at the other things I mentioned then call someone else.