Window A/C not cooling

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-17-03, 07:20 PM
Thomas Hoover
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Exclamation Window A/C not cooling

The window a/c we just put in doesn't seem to be working right. The air isn't very cold (not much cooler than the air inside) and the compressor doesn't seem to be coming on; it just makes a low humming noise, but definitely not the type of noise you would think. Also, the plug is a single phase, grounded, 3-prong (duh), connected to a double thirty amp circuit breaker. The tag inside says to hook to a 15 amp breaker, 220 volt. Is it possible the amps are too high and the volts too low? Do we maybe need to replace the circuit breakers or put in a voltage regulator? Help, this is Kansas and it's only getting hotter by the day.

It is a Sear Kenmore model #25378186890 and was working fine at it's old location. The fan is working, but isn't putting out much air. It is an 18,000 BTU unit but was unplugged while still running three days ago.
 
  #2  
Old 06-17-03, 07:48 PM
H
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,836
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
whoooa!!!!

Boy does this sound whacked! It sounds like somebody was playing Tim the toolman and rewired it.....
First, the data plate will ID the voltage required to operate it properly. Secondly, If it's 220V there is no way that it could have a standard type plug...It will be one of the weird ones where the two blades of the plug run sideways instead and then the D shaped ground. It should be on a dedicated circuit for that unit only. If the outlet is 220, it was most likely designed specifically for this purpose.
 
  #3  
Old 06-18-03, 05:49 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,548
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Also if you have a 30amp breaker and the unit calls for a 15amp breaker you need to change it to match the requirements of the A/C unit for safety reasons.The 30amp breaker don't mean that you are sending 30amps to the A/C it means whatever is hooked to it can produce up to 30amps before it trips. If your current A/C is rated at 15amps and it was to short out it could very well start a fire before the breaker ever tripped.

But on the no cooling has it ever been cleaned?
 
  #4  
Old 06-18-03, 04:26 PM
bigjohn
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
How many volts are you reading at the outlet? Does the fan motor seem to be a lot slower than it was before? Sounds like you've got 120 volts going to a 220 volt unit.
 
  #5  
Old 06-21-03, 02:26 AM
PECseptic
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
a better alternative to window ac's

Check out the new craze in technology of heating and cooling, the portable roll around air conditioner, check out the to help solve your problems at XXXXX XXXXX and feel free to call or email from page for immediate help or answers to questions.

Moderator note:

Advertising is a paid service offered by DIY.com. Please contact site management for rates.
 

Last edited by GregH; 06-21-03 at 07:36 AM.
  #6  
Old 06-21-03, 07:47 AM
H
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,836
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Talking The ductless

18,000 BTU...don't kill yourself with that monster...have a ductless installed. You won't even know it's running because the noise maker is on the ground. The common ones out there are the Mitsubishi Mr Slim, The Sanyo, The Sam Sung, Fredrich...the first two are the best. You wont have to remove it during the season change either. You'll have a pipe set that will require a 3" hole that has a dressing ring to cover it...and you'll be able to use your window again!!!!
 
  #7  
Old 06-21-03, 02:16 PM
54regcab's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 661
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Let talk PRICE

And just how much is it to haev one of these installed ??
(I'll bet no definete answer or figure will be over $2K)
For that $$$ Central A/C becomes more in sight
 
  #8  
Old 06-23-03, 03:27 PM
H
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,836
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Price???

If you have a warm air system by all means an A coil and a condensing unit. If not... the duct system itself would eat up the two grand...If you have a solid duct system, you might only need a ton and a half to do the house. Thats all I have doing my upstairs and it does that easily...The ductless is for people that have boilers (no scorched air system)...
 
  #9  
Old 06-23-03, 06:08 PM
54regcab's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 661
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well

How much for a split unit installed ? (assume basic installation)
 
  #10  
Old 06-23-03, 10:03 PM
H
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,836
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Guessing ???

about $3200, I havent had to price one out but I would think a mechanic for two or three days.
 
  #11  
Old 06-24-03, 06:12 AM
54regcab's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 661
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Red face $3200

So about 8 times as much as a 18,000 BTU wondow unit ?
Lets face it, most people who have window units live in older homes.
If we could afford one of these we would probably just install a central HVAC.
$2,000 for a duct system for a large house is probably reasonable, but if you house is so big you need a 2K duct system chances are you would need multiple "ductless units"
Seems to me Central is the way to go unless installation of ductwork would be difficult.
$400.00 for a window unit keeps looking better
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: