Trying to save money with AC

Old 07-20-03, 05:15 PM
Huxley
Visiting Guest
Trying to save money with AC

I am leaving the AC off from 2pm to 11pm I am not home since I work 2nd shift then I turn it on at 11pm Will I save money by doing this or should I leave it on all day? It takes about 40 minutes to cool down the home when I turn it on at 11pm. I am guessing it would kick on and off alot of times between 2pm and 11pm. and would it just be cheaper to run the moter 40-45 minutes straight? During the heat of the day it hits about 95 I live in the midwest.

Sponsored Links
Old 07-20-03, 08:03 PM
bryan77
Visiting Guest
I am no expert in this matter, but I can give you my opinion. Im sure a pro will be around soon to either tell me, im incorrect or back me up. I think it may use more power to cool your house when you are home, as the ac is working hard to "catch"back up to the desired temp, What you might want to do is invest in a digital programmable Tstat, and say if you leave your ac at 75 when you are home, set it at a higher temp while you are out. If the ac cycles when you are away, it keeps the upperhand on the humidity in the house.You could set it to return back to the desired temp at a set time before you even get home, so the house is comfy for you when you arive home from work. Like I said these are my opinions and I to am looking forward to a professional answer.

Old 07-20-03, 08:24 PM
Huxley
Visiting Guest
saving money

I didn't state my question right that is what I do I set my AC at 80 when I am home and 88 when I am at work. Is that to great of a temp. spread?

Old 07-21-03, 06:44 AM
CampyGuy
Visiting Guest
i'm not a pro either, i did work in AC control for a while, but that was in computer room applications, where precise temp and humidity control was more important than cost. but anyway here goes:

i don't think the theory that it takes more enerry to "catch up" from lettting the temp get really high is correct.