leaking oil tank in basement

Old 08-26-03, 05:56 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
leaking oil tank in basement

hi

i just discovered a very slow leak in my 275 gallon oil tank in the basement. I was told $1000-1500 to replace it and dispose of the old one. I am a high school teacher who can't afford this much money. Are there any other options??

For example: Can I remove it myself? Can I buy my own tank? Can I install it??

Any and all info is welcomed before I sink serious money into this.

And one more thing: we have our house on the market and are planning on selling soon. Should we try and patch the tank??

thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 08-26-03, 08:06 PM
Super Moderator
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
robert smith:

If you were to replace the tank you would need a fuel pump to pump the fuel out of the house into a storage tank, replace the tank and then pump the fuel back in.
You would have to check on what house remodelling may have done to your ability to get the tanks in and out.
You could contact your fuel dealer to fing a tank supplier.

No it can't be patched. Besides, if you patch the tank and someone buys your house you could be responsible for any thing that happens.
Heard of someone that returned from a holiday to find half their tank emptied in their basement.

I guess what I'm saying is that $1500.00 sounds like a bargain to me.

Old 08-27-03, 04:25 AM
Have you gotten prices from your oil supplier yet? They may cut you a pretty sweet deal. Even though I'm in this trade I would rather pay somebody else to do this just for the smell factor.

Is the actual tank leaking or is it a line or fitting. If it's one of these repair it. But if the tank is whats leaking like Greg said don't patch it you're just asking for trouble.

Old 08-27-03, 05:51 AM
thanks and i agree with what you are saying. the leak is on the side of the tank and it can't be patched.