Reasonable Cost for setting up new fuel oil tank?

Old 09-11-03, 09:38 PM
dejola
Visiting Guest
Angry Reasonable Cost for setting up new fuel oil tank?

I bought a new 330 gallon fuel oil tank to replace the old one, which is buried outside my house within 4 feet of where I put the new one (although there is a foundation wall between the two) in my cellar. I bought the tank, along with legs, vent, and a fuel guage from a tank distributor for $340.26, delivered.

I called my fuel oil company, with whom I've been doing business for 30 years, to come by and set up the new tank. They came by and did the following:

1. New fill & vent line to outside of house;
2. Double tap bushing for supply & return oil lines;
3. Half inch bottom tank valve;
4. Transfer all old oil from old tank less 35 gallons of contaminated fuel which will be sent to a recycler;
5. Use owner's 330 oil tank, ventalarm, guage.

For this they charged me $900 plus tax.

Two guys were here for about four hours.

This seems to me to be very unreasonable. I would have expected that work to cost maybe $400-$500 at most.

I live in northern Westchester County, N.Y.

Am I wrong?

Thanks

Old 09-12-03, 10:58 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question YOU DIDNT ASK FIRST

Call around there and ask cost for a job like this at some other oil companys. See what they say the cost is. You dont say about an oil filter here ? like they say here get 3 bids on a job. They did fire it off didnt they?That's about $112. per man hr. Dont know what your rate is up there. But I would sure like to get that. ED

Old 09-12-03, 11:32 AM
dejola
Visiting Guest
Reasonable Cost for Setting Up New Fuel Oil Tank?

Thanks for the response. I didn't get three estimates. I simply called the local guy who has provided my fuel oil and heating system maintenance for over 30 years and told him I need my new fuel tank set up. If he hosed me he was short-sighted because now I'll find a new fuel oil/maintenance provider.