relocating unit

Old 09-19-03, 10:47 AM
mrblonde108
Visiting Guest
relocating unit

I have a ducane unit and want to relocate. I don't want to cut the lines and have freon come out. Is there a procedure or do i just shut the valves and cut the lines?

thanks in advance

I'm an electrician and know basic about hvac.

Sponsored Links
Old 09-19-03, 12:00 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
AC

You cant just cut the lines. You have to be EPA to work on an AC unit. If it could be they can pump it down or recover the freon.
Then you can do what you want with the lines. Then the lines and coil has to be vacuumed out before the freon is put back in ED

Old 09-19-03, 12:18 PM
brickeyee
Visiting Guest
After you have the freon removed, cut the line and crimp it tightly closed on each side. Try to minimize the time the system will spend disconnected. The longer the system spends open, and even crimped over it is open, the worse. If you can get the A/C tech who removes the freon to purge the system with nitrogen, so much the better. Opening a vacuumed system to the atmosphere will suck a lot of crud into it.

Old 09-21-03, 11:58 AM
mrblonde108
Visiting Guest
thank guys i was wondering how to pump it down. the unit has valves to close the lines and keep freon in the compressor. Im just wondering how to "pump it down"

And if u have to be EPA how come they sell DIY freon kits in Walmart for cars.

thanks again

Old 09-21-03, 12:38 PM
Exclamation A/C

If you look that car kit is for R-134, now that you can mess with. But when it come to R-12 old freon on the outlawed list or R-22 and R-410a or the others You have to be EPA to work on it at all. If you work on the units freon side you stand to get a $10k fine ED

Old 09-21-03, 08:34 PM
mrblonde108
Visiting Guest
10k dollar fine.lol where am i gonna get 10k form lol Screw the EPA.

Now all i want is to know how to "pump it down"