home A/C trouble RUDD

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-04-03, 01:37 PM
cuzzx
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
home A/C trouble RUDD

came home last night and the house was warm.
i hand checked the lines coming to the inside unit from the outside.
both was about the same so i went outside to see if i could find what was wrong.
the outside unit was not running, i checked the fan motor because last week it sounded as though it wanted to squeel.
the motor was tite so i wd-40 it and motor was free to turn.
went inside and turned air on and the inside blower came on but nothing outside.
no clicking , buzzing , just nothing.

any ideas as to what i should check?
 
  #2  
Old 10-04-03, 01:39 PM
KField's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Easton, PA
Posts: 3,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Circuit breaker and any fuses for the outdoor unit for starters.
 
  #3  
Old 10-04-03, 01:54 PM
cuzzx
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
no

went and checked all breakers, flipped off then back on, inside blower works but outside unit , nothing.
 
  #4  
Old 10-04-03, 02:16 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A/C

With the tstat calling for cool does the contactor in the out door unit pull in??Do you have a high head limit in the out door unit. Are there any fuses out there by the unit? ED
 
  #5  
Old 10-04-03, 02:21 PM
cuzzx
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
???

With the tstat calling for cool does the contactor in the out door unit pull in??Do you have a high head limit in the out door unit.
i now a little about A/C 's but i have no idea as to what you are asking.

Are there any fuses out there by the unit? ED
there is a on/off type box outside next to unit.

I have flipped all breakers & other off then flipped back on.
 
  #6  
Old 10-04-03, 02:31 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A/C

Inside the outdoor unit is a relay or some call it a contactor. Does it pull in when you call for cool. Are does things run if you push it in. Do you have 220 there at it? Now look out this is all hot 220 when you have the cover off . ED
 
  #7  
Old 10-04-03, 03:21 PM
KField's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Easton, PA
Posts: 3,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If the 'squeaky' fan stopped turning, it would have caused the unit to lock out on a high pressure safety (if your unit has one). Thats why it's important to know if there is a click in there when the thermostat trys to start the outdoor unit. It might be wise to have someone look at it to get everything straightened out at one time.
 
  #8  
Old 10-04-03, 03:53 PM
cuzzx
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
thanks

thanks guys i looked at the relay first and it looked burnt.
i pushed in on the relay button and it started up.
held it in for a few minutes and the large line got ice cold and the small was hot.
will go in tomorrow and pick up a fan motor and relay.
 
  #9  
Old 10-04-03, 04:23 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Motor

Make sure you get the same RPM and "ccw or cw". That it turns the right way.. Get a new capacitor with it also ED
 
  #10  
Old 10-04-03, 05:33 PM
KField's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Easton, PA
Posts: 3,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm not sure you proved you found the problem. You now know that you have voltage to the contactor and that the compressor runs. You didn't say if the fan started. If it didn't, you may be on to something. If it did, you may have a low voltage problem and still didn't find out why. Did you ever check to see if the contactor pulled in on a call for cooling from the thermostat?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: