replacing pump motor for furnace/hot water heat

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-17-03, 07:45 PM
pandol
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
replacing pump motor for furnace/hot water heat

The pump motor needs to be replaced on our furnace. It froze up. How do you get the water out of the system so that when you take the motor off - it's not running all over the place?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-18-03, 03:43 AM
Narroc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 189
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pump shut off

First you do not have a furnace you must have a boiler system , hot water system have boilers while hot air systems have furnaces. To remove the pump if there is no isolating valves on each side of the pump then you would need to drain the system, Sounds like you need to get some professional help on this one.
 
  #3  
Old 10-18-03, 06:07 AM
KField's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Easton, PA
Posts: 3,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Give us the brand and model of the pump. If you just need a motor, you may not have to drain the system at all.
 
  #4  
Old 10-18-03, 07:17 AM
pandol
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
pump

The pump is definitely shot - It's a Bell & Gossett Series #100 F19
 
  #5  
Old 10-18-03, 07:43 AM
pandol
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
draining system

I believe we just figured out how to drain the system. After the new pump and motor are installed - how do we refill the system properly?
 
  #6  
Old 10-18-03, 07:45 AM
KField's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Easton, PA
Posts: 3,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is probably best if you can replace the whole unit anyway. The motors for the B&G 100 cost more than a whole Taco 007 pump. The Taco 007 is a good way to go. It will fit right in where the old one is and only cost you about $75. One note. If you have the Red bB&G flanges that are thin stamped steel, you should get a full flange gasket for the new pump. The o-ring gaskets sometimes give a problem sealing when you tighten the bolts against the flexible flanges. If you have cast flanges which are ablot 1/2" thick, you are OK. You might even consider changing them if they are the thin ones. They are junk. You will need to know what the pipe size is to get new flanges. If you measure the o.d. of the fitting, you can match it when you get the new ones.

Good Luck
 
  #7  
Old 10-18-03, 08:28 AM
pandol
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
gasket

We have the cast iron flanges. The hardware store did not have either gasket and sold us Ulta Blue RTV silicone gasket maker - is this ok?
 
  #8  
Old 10-18-03, 04:06 PM
KField's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Easton, PA
Posts: 3,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
RTV is absolutely NOT OK. The gaskets come with the Taco 007 pump so if you haven't yet opened it, check it out.
 
  #9  
Old 10-18-03, 08:28 PM
brickeyee
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Try and find a TACO. They are a much better pump.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: