Furnace Problem - Newbie Here!!!

Old 10-30-03, 11:35 AM
Razorback Jedi
Visiting Guest
Unhappy Furnace Problem - Newbie Here!!!

I just found out today that my 16 year old (York) gas furnace/heater is on the brink. There is severe corrosion/rusting on the burners and inside the unit. The unit worked fine last winter, but now since it hasn't been started in 8 months, it's not working. I just replaced the 16 year old AC unit this summer (condenser and coil), so I'm wondering if that has something to do with it. The serviceman that was here yesterday told me that my thermostat might be broken as well (it's not firing the blower, though it has a 24v readout on the wires).

What are my options? I'm not that knowledgable about furnaces, so I don't want to get "taken" by my serviceman.

Should I replace the unit (I've got an 8 month old son, and am afraid of Carbon Monoxide though I do have a CM dector by his BR)? If so, what brand & effeciency would you reccommend? I have a one story house, 8 total rooms (9ft. ceilings), 2000 square feet.

What should I expect to pay for a new unit?

Thanks in advance for any and all help!!

Sponsored Links
Old 10-30-03, 12:15 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New unit

Get 3 bids for this job if you do need a new unit then make up your mind. Didnt they try and sell you a furnace then with the new AC. It would have been better to do it then , But thats that. This service man you had that said your Tstat COULD BE BROKE .

"The serviceman that was here yesterday told me that my thermostat might be broken as well (it's not firing the blower, though it has a 24v readout on the wires). "

I would for sure get another hvac tech in to look the whole thing over and and see for sure what you need.Never that one again.
ED

Old 10-30-03, 04:41 PM
oh my!

why not call the service manager and let him know what you were told...he will probably send someone else out there with more experience.

Old 10-30-03, 05:27 PM
Razorback Jedi
Visiting Guest