B-Vent for furnace


  #1  
Old 01-14-04, 05:08 PM
appliancepresid
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
B-Vent for furnace

Hello All,
The duct work is in now on the gibson kg6ra045 furnace

I was installing 2 lengths of b-vent one 5' and one 2' peice of vent pipe.

a friend came over he said I needed a draft hood connector at the top of the furnace vent then put on the vent pipe through roof.

Is that correct or can I just put the lengths of b-vent on top of furnace and thru roof with flashing and storm collar and wind cap?

thanks in advance
 
  #2  
Old 01-15-04, 07:21 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,548
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is this just a forced air furnace? If so this day and age it will have a draft inducer. Eliminating the need for a draft hood.
 
  #3  
Old 01-15-04, 08:00 AM
appliancepresid
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Hello Mattison,
It is a fan forced gas furnace with induced draft fan blower.

I thought I did not need the draft hood connector but wanted to check with the experts.

Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 01-15-04, 11:10 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb vent hood

Your getting there. Like Matt said dont think so but look at the paper work that came with the furnace ED
 
  #5  
Old 01-16-04, 07:16 PM
appliancepresid
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Hello,
After looking at paperwork it says vent to be min. 5' and does not mention a draft hood connector.

Thanks Ed and Matt




Craig
 
  #6  
Old 01-16-04, 07:48 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
On the 80% furnace, you don't need draft hoods. Just on the old ones that didn't have a inducer blower on it.
 
  #7  
Old 01-16-04, 08:01 PM
appliancepresid
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks Jay,
Another ?

Do you just slide the b-vent on top of the furnace vent and secure with sheetmetal screws or just slide and thats it.? No Screws?

thanks in advance
 
  #8  
Old 01-16-04, 08:48 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Not where you system is set up.. But you can use the regluar pipe, and use the B-vent when your near combustable products.


Don't need to use scew on b-vent tey should twist and lock in place.


But yeah. put the pipe right on the furnace, and off to the roof you go.
 
  #9  
Old 01-16-04, 08:59 PM
appliancepresid
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks Jay11J
 
  #10  
Old 01-17-04, 07:11 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb B vent

Code here calls for one screw put into the Bvent after it is locked two screws on just plain vent pipe ED
 
  #11  
Old 01-17-04, 04:27 PM
hvac4u's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NW atlanta
Posts: 3,145
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
code here allows 14 in single wall as long as 6 in min clearance to combustinles is met, NO screws in double wall, if so the must be stainless if they penetrate the inside liner.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: