B-Vent for furnace

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-14-04, 05:08 PM
A
appliancepresid
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
B-Vent for furnace

Hello All,
The duct work is in now on the gibson kg6ra045 furnace

I was installing 2 lengths of b-vent one 5' and one 2' peice of vent pipe.

a friend came over he said I needed a draft hood connector at the top of the furnace vent then put on the vent pipe through roof.

Is that correct or can I just put the lengths of b-vent on top of furnace and thru roof with flashing and storm collar and wind cap?

thanks in advance
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-15-04, 07:21 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,549
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is this just a forced air furnace? If so this day and age it will have a draft inducer. Eliminating the need for a draft hood.
 
  #3  
Old 01-15-04, 08:00 AM
A
appliancepresid
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Hello Mattison,
It is a fan forced gas furnace with induced draft fan blower.

I thought I did not need the draft hood connector but wanted to check with the experts.

Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 01-15-04, 11:10 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb vent hood

Your getting there. Like Matt said dont think so but look at the paper work that came with the furnace ED
 
  #5  
Old 01-16-04, 07:16 PM
A
appliancepresid
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Hello,
After looking at paperwork it says vent to be min. 5' and does not mention a draft hood connector.

Thanks Ed and Matt




Craig
 
  #6  
Old 01-16-04, 07:48 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
On the 80% furnace, you don't need draft hoods. Just on the old ones that didn't have a inducer blower on it.
 
  #7  
Old 01-16-04, 08:01 PM
A
appliancepresid
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks Jay,
Another ?

Do you just slide the b-vent on top of the furnace vent and secure with sheetmetal screws or just slide and thats it.? No Screws?

thanks in advance
 
  #8  
Old 01-16-04, 08:48 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Not where you system is set up.. But you can use the regluar pipe, and use the B-vent when your near combustable products.


Don't need to use scew on b-vent tey should twist and lock in place.


But yeah. put the pipe right on the furnace, and off to the roof you go.
 
  #9  
Old 01-16-04, 08:59 PM
A
appliancepresid
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks Jay11J
 
  #10  
Old 01-17-04, 07:11 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb B vent

Code here calls for one screw put into the Bvent after it is locked two screws on just plain vent pipe ED
 
  #11  
Old 01-17-04, 04:27 PM
hvac4u's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NW atlanta
Posts: 3,147
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
code here allows 14 in single wall as long as 6 in min clearance to combustinles is met, NO screws in double wall, if so the must be stainless if they penetrate the inside liner.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: