Basement too warm. Insulate main heat ducts in basement?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-19-04, 07:39 AM
Markj61
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Basement too warm. Insulate main heat ducts in basement?

I have an old house with a forced air gas system installed. On cold winter days when the furnace runs more often, the unused unfinished basement can get very warm from all the radiant heat from the large main supply duct runing the length of the basement.

Can I (or should I) insulate the ducts with some kind of wrap or pink panther rolls??

This seems like it would direct more heat to the house with less radiant loss to the basement.

Opinions?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-19-04, 10:20 AM
KField's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Easton, PA
Posts: 3,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would think the heat is more from air loss from the duct than radiation. You could use duct tape and seal all the seams in the main trunk duct as well as the connections where the branches are cut into the trunk. If you do this on the supply and return ducts, I think you will be satisfied with the results. You can also buy a duct seal mastic. It can be more difficult to apply than duct tape but it also will stop air leakage.

Insulating the supply duct could be advantageous but is very difficult to do after the duct is assembled and hung.
 
  #3  
Old 01-19-04, 10:46 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Keep in mine that the heat down there is going up and warm the floor above it. So its not a full loss. Warm floor happy wife ED
 
  #4  
Old 01-19-04, 02:44 PM
Andrew's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 1,000
Received 8 Votes on 6 Posts
Be sure to use the shiney aluminum-looking duct tape. Don't use the cheap gray "duct tape". The cheap stuff will not last.
 
  #5  
Old 01-19-04, 07:07 PM
Markj61
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks, all (e)

.
 
  #6  
Old 01-19-04, 07:45 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You have any vents opening in the basement? If you do, close some of them off.. On the colder days the basement is going to be the warmer room of the whole house cuz it's not explosed to the cold air.
 
  #7  
Old 01-20-04, 12:48 PM
Markj61
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Vents? Yes and they are closed...

I have vents two vents tapped into the main supply and they are both closed, I may also tape over the vent grates to seal them more.

Also believe half my issue is my large, old, and likely inefficient furnace throwing off alot of radiant heat down there.
Lennox G12.
 
  #8  
Old 01-20-04, 01:03 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
lets try this then . If its so warm down there you do have a clean filter in the furnace? The blower blades are also clean no dirt build up where it dont blow like it should. Is there an AC coil on the furnace and its dirty and dont let air through it. Could you step up the fan speed there is it on low or is it a belt drive? that can be kicked up??? The duct should not get that hot ED
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: