Furnace blowing but no heat

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-21-04, 12:11 PM
ebjerga
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Furnace blowing but no heat

Occasionally my 10-year old, gas furnace "kicks on" but, rather than blowing heat, it blows cold air. I assume the gas is not getting ignited.

If I set the thermostat off, then back on to "Heat", the heat then flows; i.e. it seems to need a reset.

Is this just a failing switch in the furnace?

Thanks,

Erling
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-21-04, 12:16 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Read B-4 U post. Need info what do you have there? ED
 
  #3  
Old 01-21-04, 12:32 PM
ebjerga
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I'm sorry. I don't understand your reply.
Read what?
What info do you need?
 
  #4  
Old 01-21-04, 12:36 PM
ebjerga
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Okay. I found what you're looking for:

1. In which area you live and ambient temperatures you usually experience. North Central, Texas - winter 30-50 deg F
2. House style and construction details. Frame, Stucco
3. Make, model and age of equipment related to the problem. Well...Make-Model: I haven't made it up in the attic yet. If I need that first, I'll get it. Age: 10 yrs
4. Fuel type. Natural gas
5. Water temperature and pressures of boiler systems. N/A
6. What type of zoning do you have with your boiler system. N/A
7. Thermostat type. Honeywell, programmable
7. Anything else that would be useful. No detail is to small. The more information you provide the easier it becomes for the professionals in this forum to determined the cause and correction to the problem.
 
  #5  
Old 01-21-04, 12:36 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What make is it. Is it a 80 or a 90 afue? Lp or nat gas do you know what kind of pilot light you have there? ED
 
  #6  
Old 01-21-04, 04:16 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sure this is not a Heat Pump?

I have not seen a gas burning furance blower running with out flames unless the t-stat is set to fan "ON"

Filter been changed?
 
  #7  
Old 01-21-04, 05:28 PM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,549
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sounds like you're going out on a safety. Turning it off then back on is resetting it. Have you changed the filter lately? If so what kind are you using? Are any of the return vents blocked? Also has this furnace been cleaned in the last couple years by a pro?
 
  #8  
Old 01-21-04, 08:57 PM
ebjerga
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Wink

Cleaned by a professional...uh...well...maybe once in 10 years.
I guess I know where this is headed. :-)

I'll give someone a call.
 
  #9  
Old 01-22-04, 05:36 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,549
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Don't be blushing. The poor old furnace gets neglected by more than just a couple of people and it's easy to forget.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: