Electrostatic Air Filter Installation

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-23-04, 09:45 PM
Still_Waters_43
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Electrostatic Air Filter Installation

I have a Lennox Furnace and the air filter was serviced by removing the front door. It was a real difficult process to pull out the filter and also to replace it (making this process worse was the fact that I am using the rigid/metal electrostaic filter).

So, my service man said he could cut a hole in the ductwork and I could service it easily from there. It obviously is much easier but the concern I have is the hole he cut is 1/2" wider and 1" taller than the actual filter dimensions. I felt that this would allow air to be sucked from the basement and also around the filter (instead of through it) as it is no longer a tight fit. The service man claims that the dirt is attracted to the filter and that I should not be concerned about the size of the opening.

Any thoughts? is this a problem?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-24-04, 05:48 AM
KField's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Easton, PA
Posts: 3,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
He had the right idea but I agree with your logic. Air will move where it can and what you will find is that some dirt stays in the filter and some gets by it. What I do is make a 1" 'U' channel that fits the filter and then find a way to make that fit airtight into the return. In your case, would you be able to take a piece of plywood and block off the area that isn't covered by your air filter? All you need to do is make it impossible for air to get around that filter. Next issue will be freeze ups on the air conditioner and low air flow because of the filter. They are pretty restrictive.
 
  #3  
Old 01-24-04, 07:59 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You dont say what model you have here. But if it had the large wrap around filter that you put over the wire frame Id go back to that for sure. like ken dont let air go around the filter. ED
 
  #4  
Old 01-25-04, 12:04 PM
Still_Waters_43
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks guys, that's what I was afraid of. Anyway I have a regular box filter, as I did'nt want the box contraption that Lennox normally provides. Fortunatly, I can go back to installing the filter the old way and just ducttape the hole in the ductwork.

Oh well!!!
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: