pilot light won't stay lit

Old 02-03-04, 03:34 AM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
pilot light won't stay lit

14 year old gas furnace. It was running fine Had my regular guy give it the yearly check over like i've been doing for 14 years.I believe in building a good relationship with my home repair guy - learn a few tips and keep everyone employed.(I'm a female).A week later the pilot goes out.Strange but i re-lite it. 5 days later again.do the same.Third time I call. It a Saturday so a call out guy comes looks it over and says"pilot flame lifts off burner side provides flame but gas builds and ignites when call for heat".Pressure 3.5 outlet. but needs a new pilot assembly. He doesn't have one but will be back Monday. He did re lite it. Monday install new one 4pm At 2 am 55degree lite out. Any suggestions?

Sponsored Links
Old 02-03-04, 04:32 AM
Im not an expert on gas systems but here are my ideas. If a new thermocouple was part of the pilot assembly, that eliminates that. If not, it should be replaced because it is expendable and inexpensive. It is possible that you have a sticking house regulator. It may only stick once in a while. Possibly the vent is clogged. I believe the gas company would be responsible for checking that. The gas valve on your furnace could also be at fault but I can't tell you exactly how to check it out. I'm sure one of the gas experts will come by here soon with more info.

Good luck.

Old 02-03-04, 06:40 AM
Id ask why new pilot assembly. If you clean the pilot and new T/C.does the pilot cover the T/C, good flame on it. Dont know where you are but 3.5 W/C is low here for NG. I have seen it when its cold for so long the gas psi goes down and some burners start to act up. ED

Old 02-03-04, 06:54 AM
Ed,

I think she meant the gas pressure after the main gas valve on the furnace.. 3.5 is what you want..

Stock,

Did they replace the thermocouple? If not, you can easly replace it.

Old 02-03-04, 08:18 AM
Jay