furnace will not hold temperature

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-09-04, 12:04 PM
Kam
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
furnace will not hold temperature

This furnace will not hold a temperature for some reason. With new thremostat and batteries, when you program 73o hold into the themostat, the furnace will not hold that temperature.

When the thermostat calls for a hold, the furnace will cycle, and the burner will ignite for about five seconds, then shut down. This cycle will occurr a couple of times before the furnace shuts down altogether until the room temperature gets to about 65o. Then the furnace will cycle and stay on heating until room temperature gets back to 73o.

Why won't the furnace burners stay on for the hold temperature?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-09-04, 12:10 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Id ask why the new tstat? Did the furnace work alright before.

Did you turn the power off to the furnace before you put this on.

Read the paper that came with the new tstat. what does it say.

ED
 
  #3  
Old 02-09-04, 12:20 PM
Kam
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
New house. Thermostat was already there. My daughers. The thermostat was working OK, and furnace was holding programmed temperature, I believe. I noticed something wrong, when the house got pretty chilly before furnace came back on. The only name on the front of the furnace is 'dependable 90%'.

We put new batteries into thermostat, and the furnace ran normal for a very short time, then went back to no hold again.
 
  #4  
Old 02-09-04, 12:46 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New house--- get builder back on it then. Or I think call a tech to look at it.

90% not name there is more 90% Is the AFUE of furnace

ED
 
  #5  
Old 02-09-04, 05:32 PM
hvac4u's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NW atlanta
Posts: 3,147
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
new home with a 90% furnace operating improperly....first i would look at the flue, be sure the is proper rise, 1/4 in per foot no sags, this is a drain as much as a flue and there is a pressure switch that will know when water is trapped in the pipe, also be sure drain out of furnace is draining properly, and if there is a pump on it the outlet is not freezing up causing a safety on the pump to kill the heat.


sounds like it is locking out

is there a diagnostic light on the circuit board?


as ed said, let the contractor fix it, he should have done it right the first time.
 
  #6  
Old 02-09-04, 06:05 PM
Kam
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the input. Though I don't understand where water would be coming from, because this is a hot air system, though there is an air conditioner system on the furnace.

I will check for drains on the furnace this weekend, and the lite on a circuit board, where ever that is. I will take the top front cover off and see what I can see.

I know I might have to get a tech guy in here to help with this problem, but I'll do somemore investigating and get back to you all. Thanks again.

By the way,...do I have to pay any kind of fee for this forum? Let me know.
 
  #7  
Old 02-09-04, 06:26 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A 90% furnace will make water from the flue. I think you will be money ahead if you stop now and call a tech in now before you short out the board in it and all.
 
  #8  
Old 02-09-04, 06:57 PM
Kam
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Ed, Thanks, and will do.
 
  #9  
Old 02-14-04, 09:43 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There is no FEE- here----------KAM We all just try and help out is all.

ED
 
  #10  
Old 02-14-04, 07:20 PM
Kam
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
furnace followup

techs came in and cleaned the circuit board or something in the furnace and it began working normal, I was told.

I'm going there Sunday to check it out. Thanks for the replies, and help.

The bill was eighty bucks, I think.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: