Gotta ruud

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-12-04, 06:24 PM
cinnamonfire
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Gotta ruud

I have a 2 pc Ruud unit .The fan is outside w/a 2nd intake unit in my attic.It's only 7 years old but I've had problems with this system since moving into the house in '97.My most recent delemma is thisuring this latest cold snap,my heater quit.The first thing I noticed was the auxillary light on my thermostat remained on,and of course,the room temp had dropped. I normally keep the thermostat set at 68 degrees on cold days.
I checked the curcuit box,nothing was tripped.Then I went to
the outside unit and pushed the reset button.The fan started oscillating immediately,but after a minute,it shut off.I did this twice and got the same results.I pulled the fuse,but had no idea how to determine if it was bad.So I returned indoors,and removed the main vent cover and the filter.I had my son go out and push the reset,while I double checked the thermostat settings.The fan cut on,then off again.But I could tell that the intake wasn't pulling in air,at all.Help!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-12-04, 07:43 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The fan cut on,then off again
What fan? Indoor or the outdoor?

had no idea how to determine if it was bad
Do you have an Ohm meter? If you do, then set the meter to Ohm setting, and check both end of the fuse.. If there is no reading, then you have a bad fuse. If a reading, then got a good fuse.

the auxillary light on my thermostat remained on,
What is being used as your back up? Gas or Electric strip?

When the Aux light is on, the heat pump may shut off, and use whatever you have for back up. if it's an electric strip heater, make sure you have full power for it.
 
  #3  
Old 03-13-04, 08:14 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
INFO INFO I take it that when you say AUX light is on that you have a heatpump. Now when you are on AUX heat the fan inside should run with the strip heaters on, or what ever back up for heat you have. Like jay asked what fan???? just what do you have ??????

what reset do you push ,what fan comes on then. do you have fan inside at fan on? If you cant check the fuse there . Just get new ones and put them in. All of them. The filter is clean ????

ED
 
  #4  
Old 03-13-04, 09:55 PM
cinnamonfire
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
What Fan?

Dear Jay and Ed:
Thank you both for your interest.I must apologise for my ineptness.AC and Heating is not my forte,but I can tell you one I 'll most certainly appreciate any advice and guidance that you can give.Please bare with me in my descriptions.I will try to be as concise as possible.I was refering to the outside unit where the fan and the reset button are located behind the unit.When my son pushed the reset button ,I heard the outside fan operate but only for a minute before shutting off again .Nothing ran,hummed or otherwise from the attic unit.And if I had back- up heat,it wasn't working either.Okay.Normally,when the temperature drops below 68 degrees,the auxillary light will come on,and the heater automatically kicks on.This is as I understand it.However,
in this case,the light remained on but only to indicate the steady drop in room temperature.I do have an emergency setting on the
thermostat,which I switched to .The red indicator light came on
which showed that I had the right setting,but that was all."Fuse" was the wrong word.There's a black box located on the top of the attic unit and one directly behind the outdoor unit mounted on the house.Inside this box is a T-handled thing with maybe 8 blades (like on blade fuses in cars),at one end.I could only describe this as a "fuse"but about 2"x3"x1/4' in size.Can this be tested with an Ohm meter also?Sorry,it does remind me of a fuse.I'll get the model info on the attic unit and submit it for you.That ought to make this alot easier.Thank you again guys.
 
  #5  
Old 03-14-04, 05:08 AM
hvac4u's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NW atlanta
Posts: 3,145
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
if the unit comes on outside, the fuses are good. pushing the reset (high pressure reset) causes the outdoor unit to come on, meaning it is getting a signal from inside, hence those fuses are probably good too. if the indoor fan is not running, or the coil or filter blocked, it will trip the switch. these switches go bad sometimes, generally from being tripped repeatedly. does the indoor fan run in the on position>?
 
  #6  
Old 03-14-04, 05:16 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I do have an emergency setting on
When it is switched over to this, your temp shouldn't drop. You should have some type of back up heat for extream cold temp where a heat pump can't keep up. It can either be gas, oil, or electric.

Do you know what you have for back up?

the reset button are located behind the unit
The reset button is most like the High Head pressure reset. When this trips. it is a sign that there is a problem somewhere in the system.

-Main blower in the attic isn't blowing.
-Dirty Coil inside
-Dirty/Plugged up air filter


Inside this box is a T-handled thing with maybe 8 blades
This is not your fuse. It is a pull disconnect, your fuse maybe inside the box behind the cover. But if the fans are running, your fuse should be ok.

With the outdoor unit running, put your hands on the big copper line that is coming from the unit to the house. (Will be some black pipe cover on the line) and see if that line is warm.

Is there any frost on the unit outside? Your Temp outside?
 
  #7  
Old 03-14-04, 07:07 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Will the inside blower fan come on if you go to just fan on???? ED
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: