rewiring thermostat

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-28-04, 06:52 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Deer Park, N.Y.
Posts: 155
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Exclamation rewiring thermostat

while remodeling, i decided to disconnect and reconnect my thermostat wiring. needless to say i didnt record just how the wiring was before i disconnected it.


this is how my furnace is wired.

twin w2 w1 red grn bl yel
= = = =
= = = =

green white red blue

_________________________________________________________________

the thermostat wiring says the following.

c w w2 r g y y2

_________________________________________________________________


i havent the foggiest idea how to rewire it, can anybody help ?

i have a trane xl80

gas forced air
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-28-04, 07:18 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

Dont know what tstat you have but this is what you need.
see what that blue is on in the furnace?? write down the colors there then go to the tstat. Should be a schermatic on the blower door of the unit.


R is power

W is heat

Y is compressor

G is fan

W2 is 2nd stage heat

Y2 is 2nd stage cool
C is common

ED
 
  #3  
Old 05-28-04, 07:23 AM
KField's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Easton, PA
Posts: 3,245
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would suggest waiting for another member here to confirm what I will assume is the correct wiring.

I tihink you are saying that you have 4 wires at the thermostat location and they are Green, White, Red, & Blue.

You can be poretty sure that the Red and Green wires go on The R and G terminals. That takes care of power and fan.

The white wire should go on the W1 terminal and that takes care of heat.

The blue is the only one left and if you have air conditioning, it would need to go on the Y terminal. If you don't have air conditioning, it could go on the C terminal or may not matter at all.

I am assuming you have a gas furnace and no heat pump.

Ken
 
  #4  
Old 05-28-04, 07:39 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Deer Park, N.Y.
Posts: 155
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i have a white-rogers thermostat and i dont have a/c, heat pump.

i'll give the wiring a try and let you know, thanks for the quick reply
 
  #5  
Old 05-31-04, 05:17 PM
hvac4u's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NW atlanta
Posts: 3,145
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i agree once again!

R to red
G to green
W1 to white
Y to blue

that configuration is very common here in georgia where 4 wire is used and there is no yellow wire
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: