Fumes in basement


  #1  
Old 09-13-04, 04:21 PM
red300m
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question Fumes in basement

I have a Heil Series 5000 oil furnace that causes a smell that smells like
exhaust fumes in the basement. The furnace works reliably and the smell
goes away if I crack a window. The basement is small (12x15).

The service techs have tried a number of solutions including changing
the nozzle size and putting in a 6 inch vent to the outside. Still get the smell.

I would like to solve this short of replacing the furnace. This is a replacement
unit and the original didn't have this problem.

red300m
 
  #2  
Old 09-14-04, 04:28 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,548
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How is the flue set-up? Do you have a barometric damper down there? The 6" vent they installed..Is that for combustion air?
 
  #3  
Old 09-14-04, 07:40 AM
red300m
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question Fumes in basement

The flue is set up with a standard pipe inserted into the base of a brick chimney. The chminey flue is square, lined with chminey tiles.

The vent was added to provide air into the basement similar to cracking a window. It doesn't seem to do much. I assume it was for combustion air.

I don't know about a barometric damper. There is a damper on the side of the exhaust pipe.

Don't know if this means anything but when I run the AC, it causes the partially open basement door to be pulled close.

red300m
 
  #4  
Old 09-14-04, 08:12 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,548
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
From my memory I believe you are required to have 1 sq inch of free air per 2,000 btu's.

There are a few great oil guys on here and will help out further soon.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: